Stuffing Pork Chops

I hate pork. I hate it with a mad passion. Always have, always will.

When I first moved up here and we were living with the in laws, I swear we were eating pork twice, if not more, a week. I think I ate more pork living with the in laws for six months than I had in my whole lifetime. Every week it was pork of some sort. I was going crazy. Once, while Bryan was in San Antonio for training, they fed me pork and cabbage for 5 days straight. It was horrible. That’s when I realized I needed to take control and start cooking at least once a week.

I stopped eating pork chops by middle school and never really looked back. Mumika never questioned it. Once in a blue moon she would buy pork chops and I would choke the stuff down. The only time I really choose to eat pork is when I’m at a Vietnamese place. I love their BBQ Pork. So yummy.

Bryan’s been trying to convince me to cut down on the red meat lately. He goes through health conscious phases that drives me crazy. I looked at him and was all, “But Steak.” and “I don’t think I can eat chicken everyday.”

So I decided if I have to eat pork, it might as well be on my terms. I can’t just fry this shit up. I really can’t. The smell is awful.

As I was rummaging through my mother in laws cookbooks when I first moved up here, I came across this recipe. I snapped a picture on my phone and proceeded to forget about it. And then Bryan pulls his health conscious crap. And I go through my phone looking for a pork recipe knowing there might be 3 out of the hundred recipes I took pictures of and come back across this recipe.

It was the first pork recipe I found.
image

Stuffing Pork Chops

4 boneless pork chops
1 cup of herbed stuffing cubes
3 tablespoons butter
2/3 cup hot water
1/2 onion, diced
1/2 bell pepper, chopped
1 tablespoon Lawry’s seasoned salt
1/8 teaspoon salt
1/8 teaspoon pepper

Directions

Sauté bell peppers and onion in butter until tender.

In a medium mixing bowl, combine herb stuffing, onions sauté, salt and pepper and water and mix until fluffy.

Flatten pork chops with meat tenderizer. Not too flat, just enough that it’s a wee bit bigger and you can fold it.

Place 1/4 of the stuffing on the bottom half of the chop and fold over.

Season the pork with the Lawry’s seasoned salt.

Place pork chops in a baking dish that has been sprayed with cooking spray. Bake at 325 for 30 minutes covered, and then another 30 minutes uncovered.

Makes 4. Calories: 284, Carbohydrates: 12 grams, Sugar: 2 grams, Fiber: 1 gram, Protein: 22 grams.

Lets say you don’t have time to make the stuffing. Get stove top, the 6oz box. Place a microwavable bowl with 1 1/2 cups of water and 3 tablespoons of butter in it in the microwave for 1 minute 3 seconds. Rip the envelope of stuffing open and pour it into the buttery water. Fluff with a fork. Then place on the pork chop and follow the directions from there.

Makes 4. Calories: 392, Carbohydrates: 32 grams, Sugar: 3 grams, Fiber: 1 gram, Protein: 25 grams.

Look how nice I was. I showed you that cheap ain’t nobody got time for this shit version. And look what happens, there’s a ton more carbs. This is a case and point on how sometimes the cheap premade takes only 2 seconds to make versions are loaded with extra stuff. You are literally adding 110 more calories by using stovetop. That’s insane!

And then there are the ingredients: ENRICHED WHEAT FLOUR (WHEAT FLOUR, NIACIN, REDUCED IRON, THIAMIN MONONITRATE [VITAMIN B1], RIBOFLAVIN [VITAMIN B2], FOLIC ACID), HIGH FRUCTOSE CORN SYRUP, ONIONS*, SALT, CONTAINS LESS THAN 2% OF PARTIALLY HYDROGENATED SOYBEAN AND/OR COTTONSEED OIL, HYDROLYZED SOY PROTEIN, COOKED CHICKEN AND CHICKEN BROTH, YEAST, CELERY*, MONOSODIUM GLUTAMATE, PARSLEY*, SPICE, MALTODEXTRIN, POTASSIUM CHLORIDE, SUGAR, CARAMEL COLOR, TURMERIC, SILICON DIOXIDE AS AN ANTICAKING AGENT, DISODIUM GUANYLATE, DISODIUM INOSINATE, NATURAL FLAVOR, WITH BHA, BHT, CITRIC ACID, AND PROPYL GALLATE AS PRESERVATIVES. *DRIED. CONTAINS: WHEAT, SOY

Wait. Did I see BHA in there? Isn’t BHA linked to cancer? Why is one of their ingredients something that is a known carcinogen?

Anyways.

I love the pork chops this way. Love it. It’s so yummy.

I made sure I got a 2 inch thick pork chop beautifully marbled. I really know how to pick out my meat thanks to my dad and to Pamina, who is a meat and dairy science major. If I picked up a bad cut of meat and she saw it she would chop my head off. Actually she would look at me like a mad Asian wife and say in a I’m so ashamed of you how dare you bring this shit home voice, “Chelle, you know better.”

I think the stuffing compliments the pork nicely to the point that you forget your eating pork. Besides, who says stuffing is just for Christmas and Thanksgiving.

Would I make this again? Most definitely. Just in, you know, maybe, 4 months to a year.

I loved it, but not that much.

2 thoughts on “Stuffing Pork Chops

  1. Pingback: Mushrooms with Tomatoes and Bacon | The DIABETIC Kitchen

  2. Pingback: Kimmikins And Jimmy are coming to visit!!! | The DIABETIC Kitchen

Leave a Reply

