Mushrooms with Tomatoes and Bacon

Sides are hard for me. Its not like I don’t like sides. I love sides. But if I can put a whole meal together in one dish, I will. I like it when everything is neatly tied in a bow.

I’m trying to broaden my horizons, spread my wings, be open to not so new things. I think what it truly comes down to is, I don’t want to stay at the in laws longer than I have to. Hence casseroles and pasta.

This is another recipe I found while rummaging through the recipe books my mother in law has. She has what seems to be a 12 book collection dedicated to world cuisine. Each book is a continent or country that has experiences, pictures of the wildlife, culture, surroundings, and dishes in it.

I have no clue what region of the world the recipe came from. I’m thinking Germany or Vienna (I know Vienna is a city not country – one of the books is on Vienna cuisine), but I’m not too sure and I didn’t feel like going through the back of the books to figure it out.

My sister in law came over in the middle of my cooking this side and commented on how amazing it smelled. Oh.My.God. did it smell amazing.

image

Mushrooms with bacon and tomatoes

8oz of mushrooms, halves
4 slices of bacon
1/2 cup onions, chopped
1 garlic clove, chopped
2 large tomatoes, roughly chopped
2 tablespoons butter

Directions

Using meat scissors, cut the bacon into small strips horizontally.

In a large skillet on medium heat, fry bacon.

When bacon has started to shrivel, add butter and melt it.

Add onions and garlic. Stir frequently until onions are translucent.

Turn heat to high and add mushroom. Stir frequently and cook for 5 minutes.

Turn heat to low and add tomatoes. Continue to stir and cook for 10 minutes.

Makes 4. Calories: 131, Carbohydrates: 7 grams, Sugar: 1 gram, Fiber: 2 grams, Protein: 5 grams.

This is pretty amazing. I used maple bacon which I was worried about but it definitely gave it a smokey sweet flavor. I love how this flavor to permeated through everything.

It is a wee bit different. But its so awesome. I love the mushrooms. The tomatoes. Sooo good.

It paired well with the pork I made. And it makes this awesome tomatoey broth that you could save for a later date to make a gravy out of.

Leave a Reply

