Mashed Parmesan Red Potatoes

Last time I made mashed potatoes, I made it with cream cheese.

This time, I decided to try the milk and butter route.

But I wanted to do something different. And after making it, I realized it needed parmesan cheese.

Most recipes you find on the internet with red potatoes are garlic parmesan ones. I don’t know why. I guess red potatoes with parmesan and garlic is so amazing it’s the only way to do if using red potatoes for mashed potatoes.

I didn’t have any garlic on hand (which is odd), so I figured parmesan would suffice.

And it did.

image

Mashed Parmesan Red Potatoes

5 medium red potatoes
1 tablespoon salt
1 cup milk
3 tablespoon butter
1/4 teaspoon ground pepper
1/4 cup grated parmesan cheese

Directions

Dice potatoes into chunks.

Place potatoes in pot. Pour water over potatoes until potatoes are covered.

Bring to boil and reduce to simmer. Cover pot and simmer until fork tender.

Drain in colander and place potatoes back into pot. Let sit for 5 minutes.

Add milk and butter. Mash until you reached the consistency you want.

Stir in parmesan.

Makes 8. Calories: 142, Carbohydrates: 20 grams, Sugar: 3 grams, Fiber: 2 grams, Protein: 5 grams.

Hmmm… Maybe milk and butter is better than cream cheese.

The parmesan cheese was a nice addition. Added a nice subtle but tangy flavor. Of course Bryan was hoping for more parmesan, but I’m more of a light flavor. He’s all *bang* right in your face with flavor.

Next time I will have to do the garlic version because something tells me everything compliments each other perfectly.

 

Leave a Reply

