Baked Creamed Corn

My husband loves creamed corn. Loves it.

I’ll be honest, I really didn’t know what it was until I met him. Actually, scratch that, until we started living together. We were in the canned vegetable aisle and he’s all let’s get some corn and proceeded to reach for the creamed corn. All I could think was, “He can’t be serious.” But, he was.

It looked like slop. Why would anyone eat slop? Tasted okay, but looked horrible. And the amount of corn in it was more mashed up than whole kernel. I was disappointed.

This is another obvious difference in our upbringing. He’s more southern home comfort food. I am no where close to that. No where. His mom makes creamed spinach and creamed asparagus and what have you. I have no clue where to start to make creamed anything. Why would I cream vegetables anyway? It’s so foreign.

This is another recipe I found in one of my mother inlaws recipe book which ironically is a at home comfort food book. It has chicken pot pie, and other home cookery recipes. My father inlaw bought it sometime last year and I don’t think they have attempted any of the recipes out of the book.

I figured if I’m going to make creamed corn, I might as well make it where I can physically see the corn and not have it mashed to shit in a can. What better version of this than a recipe from a comfort food book. I’m learning. I’m trying to do this whole comfort food southern cooking thing. Sometimes a diabetic needs to feel like the food loves them as much as they love food. Feel like the food is wrapping them up in a blanket of love and hugs. Yeah.

image

Baked Creamed Corn

2 cups corn
1 cup milk
2 tablespoons butter
2 tablespoons flour
1 tablespoon sugar
2 eggs
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon pepper

Directions

Melt butter in pan.

Beat eggs in a bowl and set aside.

Add flour and stir until well combine.

Add milk slowly and bring to a boil stirring constantly.

Add corn, sugar, salt, and pepper. Stir frequently.

Add eggs and mix until well combined.

Spray a 2 quart baking dish with cooking spray and pour corn mixture into baking dish.

Bake at 350 for 25 minutes.

Makes 6. Calories: 134, Carbohydrates: 16 grams, Sugar: 6 grams, Fiber: 2 grams, Protein: 6 grams.

Holy Fuck! Who knew creamed corn could taste so good.

It’s creamy, it somehow tastes fresh. So yummy. I could eat this for days. I could eat this every week. Southern comfort food is on to something.

And this side can pair with anything. Steak and a salad. Chicken and green beans. Fish and asparagus.

Screw a can. A can is for chumps. A can is for people with no taste buds. Make this. Every time you think hey I feel like some creamed corn, go out and buy the corn. You have no reason not to make this. The ingredients are so simple and a staple in every single person on the planet that owns a kitchen kitchen. It takes minutes to make and then you pop it in the oven as you work on the entrée or another side. So simple.

Love it!

Leave a Reply

