Turkey Tetrazzini

I’ve heard of Turkey Tetrazzini, but never had it. It was sort of something you used left over Thanksgiving and Christmas turkey for. There are different ways to make it. Some recipes call for peas, others carrots, or peas and carrots. I say whatever floats your boat.

It’s rumored that some chef in 1908 in either San Francisco or New York City created the dish and named it after an Opera singer that resided in the hotel the chef worked at. Obviously the opera singer’s last name is Tetrazzini. This is an old piece of American food history in casserole form.

The basic ingredients are below, make it as fancy as you want or not. Whatever tickles your fancy. Personally, I think it tastes perfect as is.

turkey tetrazzini

Turkey Tetrazzini

1 pound ground turkey
12 oz thin spaghetti
1 cup onion, chopped
1 cup mushrooms, chopped
1 clove garlic, chopped
1 cup cream
2 cups chicken broth
1/4 cup butter
1/4 cup flour
1/2 cup cheddar cheese

Directions

Brown ground turkey. Set aside.

Cook and drain spaghetti.

While boiling the spaghetti, lightly brown the mushrooms, onions and garlic in the butter in a skillet under medium heat.

Stir in the flour and cook until bubbly.

Stir in cream and chicken broth stirring frequently until it boils. Remove from heat.

In a sprayed 2 quart casserole dish lay down a layer of spaghetti, then a layer of turkey over it and a layer of sauce over the turkey. Repeat again and end with a layer of spaghetti.

Sprinkle cheese over spaghetti.

Bake at 400 for 20 minutes.

Makes 10. Calories: 348, Carbohydrates: 32 grams, Sugar: 2 grams, Fiber: 2 grams, Protein: 18 grams.

I totally made this wrong. I skipped the whole chicken broth part and swore I had ruin the whole thing. But, I didn’t.

I love fool proof meals. So you forget to add the chicken broth, no big deal. Just add it when you remember it and keep going. I swear sometimes I’m a culinary klutz.

Bryan ate over half of it the first day and Mumika almost dove in for seconds until I reminded her that Bryan had yet to eat.

So it goes fast.

I’ll be honest, I was surprised. The mushrooms and onions went well with cheddar cheese. Pasta goes with pretty much everything. But my main concern was the turkey. Recently I found out that I don’t really like turkey. I think it’s the way it’s prepared. Fried – awesome. Roasted – not so much. Stuffed Turkey Breast – eh, it’ll work. Ground turkey browned and made into crumbles – yumtastic!

Maybe I’ll make this again the day after Thanksgiving and it’ll become a tradition.

 

Leave a Reply

