Lebanese Beef with Green Beans

Sometimes ground beef gets boring. You can only eat so much Italian food or cowboy casseroles or nachos or burgers or what have you. You have to start thinking outside of the food box. Look up different styles. Different cuisine. Different flavor palates.

I like Lebanese food. There was this Lebanese place in Boston off of Huntington Avenue called Boston Shwarma. I loved that place. Loved it. Ate there at least once a month. The beef Shwarma is amazing. When I came across this recipe, I couldn’t resist it. There was just something about it. And it uses fresh green beans!

So I made it. With the red wine. Well, I already had red wine breathing in the fridge. Ok, more like I lost the cork and left it in the fridge without the cork. I know I know, extremely faux pas, I shouldn’t have used it, how dare I?!?! But here’s the thing, I tried this wine fully ready for it to be rancid and it wasn’t. It’s been corkless for about a month and it tastes great. Extremely weird. So I used it. And it didn’t ruin the taste.
image

Lebanese Beef with green beans

1 tablespoon butter
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 large onion, chopped
4 cloves garlic, chopped
1 lb ground beef
1 lb green beans, ends trimmed and cut into bite size pieces
28 oz Marinara sauce
1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
2 tablespoons red wine
1 teaspoon kosher salt
1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper

Directions

In a large skillet over medium heat, melt the butter with the oil.

Add the onions and cook slowly until tender, about 5 minutes.

Add the garlic and saute until fragrant.

Add the ground beef and crumble as it cooks.

Stir in marinara, Worcestershire, red wine, salt and pepper. Bring to a boil and reduce heat to a low simmer.

Cover with lid and simmer for 30 minutes.

About ten minutes before serving, add the green beans, stir and cover with lid once more.

Makes 8. Calories: 252, Carbohydrates: 14 grams, Sugar: 2 grams, Fiber: 3 grams, Protein: 12 grams.

There’s something deja vu-y about this dish. Like I’ve actually had it somewhere before.

Bryan says it reminds him of his mom’s Spanish rice but I’m not too sure about that.

Maybe I had a dream where I made it? Maybe from looking at the ingredients, I knew exactly how it should taste? I don’t know, but it was weird.

It truly is an amazing dish. I don’t feel like it’s overly Lebanese. It doesn’t really feel Lebanese because it’s not screaming Mediterranean at me. I don’t see the Lebanese using tomato sauce in their dishes.

But, it’s different. Definitely not the normal. And it goes well with rice. I love the green beans in it, gives it and extra dose of color and flavor. Great way to entice those picky eaters. Besides, you can only sauté and steam green beans so many time.

If you’re looking to break out of the norm and don’t feel like ordering out, make this. You won’t regret it. Besides, it’s a good reason to break out a bottle of red wine and drink it as you cook and as you eat.

“Oh sweetie, I had to drink this whole bottle of wine because this recipes only calls for two stupid tablespoons and I just can’t let it go to waste. So I drank it. We can’t be wasteful can we? Just think how being wasteful would effect the kids. So, really it’s for the children.”

Best excuse ever.

Leave a Reply

