Baked Mozzarella Chicken Rolls

I love Italian style food without the pasta. Don’t get me wrong I love love love pasta. But sometimes, I just want an entrée.

The hubby complains that I’m bad at this whole entrée and sides thing. He’s right. I like it better when everything is thrown together in one big dish and delivered with a big red bow. Sometimes it just feels easier. Then I scour the internet and can’t find a bloody entrée dish I like.

But I came across this recipe and thought, finally a stuffed chicken dish I can probably do. Mumika made me a stuffed chicken with squash, eggplant, mozzarella, and mushrooms and it did not agree with me.

I made this wrong. You know when you look at directions, and you think you know what you’re doing so you don’t look at them until you get to the next part only to realize you skipped like 3 steps. *waves* Hi, my name is Michelle, and I tend to look at recipes wrong. Not that it made a difference. I just dipped the chicken into the egg whites and bread crumbs before rolling them. I also spread the marinara sauce ontop of the chicken before putting it in the oven. It still came out amazing.

image

Baked Mozzerella Chicken Rolls

8 thinly cut boneless skinless chicken breasts
1/2 cup Italian style bread crumbs
6 tablespoons grated Parmesan cheese, divided
5 ounces fresh baby spinach
1 clove minced garlic
1/2 cup part-skim ricotta cheese
1/4 cup beaten egg whites (I used something similar to Egg Beaters)
3 ounces fresh mozzarella cheese, thinly sliced
1 cup marinara sauce
1 teaspoon of olive oil

Directions

Place the breadcrumbs in a shallow bowl with 2 tablespoons of Parmesan cheese and set aside.

Chop the spinach and sauté it with the garlic with the olive oil until just barely wilted.

Combine the sautéed spinach with the ricotta, Parmesan cheese, and 2-3 tablespoons of the egg whites. Place the remaining egg whites in a separate shallow bowl and set aside.

Spray the bottom of a large baking dish.

Place one piece of chicken on a flat working surface. Put a spoonful of ricotta-spinach filling right in the middle and roll the chicken up so that the edges meet to form a “seam”.

Dip the entire chicken roll in egg whites, and then roll it in the breadcrumbs.

Place in a baking dish, seam side down.

Bake at 400.

After 25 minutes, the chicken should be cooked through (white on the inside) and browned on the top. Cover the chicken with the marinara sauce and slices of fresh Mozzarella.

Bake for another 3-5 minutes or until cheese is melting.

Makes 8. Calories: 266, Carbohydrates: 10 grams, Fiber: 1 gram, Protein: 35 grams.

Despite doing everything wrong, it came out amazing. The chicken was succulent and the spinach ricotta filling complimented everything. This is one of those dishes you can make for the health conscious without sacrificing flavor, texture, or yumminess.

You can pair it with a caprese salad, or an arugula salad. Asparagus would work as well.

I was pretty surprised how well it came out. When I was younger, I hate ricotta. The amount used compared the how much spinach used is the perfect amount. The garlic balances the spinach and ricotta. I swear I could make this into a dip and eat it with tortilla chips or pita chips. So yummy.

Leave a Reply

