Yummy Berry Purse

Today is Mumika’s birthday.

Happy Birthday Mumika!

It was also my last day in town. Originally we were supposed to make strawberry rhubarb tarts but she changed her mind. Actually, the whole time I’ve been in town all our plans have been tossed up in the air. We went to Cullen’s a day early because she had work the next day. The day my sister in law visited, instead of going to the fabric store they stayed at the house meaning I had to entertain. Which I was fine with, I haven’t been near the nephews for more than 30 minutes. But that meant no fruit tarts because it is rude to be all, “How nice of you to visit, excuse me while I stay in the kitchen and ignore you and your kids the whole time.” Luckily, due to Mumika having work, I got to spend time with one of my best friends. 4 hours of awesome Kelly time. And I got to hang out with my massage friends too (always a major plus)

However, due to everyday being different, waking up later than normal, and other conflicts, I never got to the club grilled cheese, fruit tarts, fruit salad, baked eggs with red pepper galettes, or the hibiscus lemonade.

But I did make these amazing fruit purses.

I made Mumika the rustic berry tart I made for Bryan on the first day of his new job. Instead of using pie crust, I used puff pastry. She ate the whole thing. So the next day I did the same thing but as individual purses. That way I could eat one.

You can make 9 big purse or 12 snack sized purses. Either way, it goes great with vanilla ice cream.

image

Yummy Berry Purses

2 cups fresh or frozen raspberries, blueberries, blackberries, and strawberries
1 sheet of puff pastry
9 or 12 teaspoons sugar.

Directions

Cut the puff pastry into 9 squares or 12 squares.

Place a small handful of berries on top of each square.

Sprinkle a teaspoon over the berries.

Fold the puff pastry over the berries and into a ball.

Place the purse on top of a baking sheet that has foil on it covered with cooking spray.

Bake at 350 for 20 minutes or until golden brown.

Makes 9 or 12. PER PURSE (12). Calories: 146, Carbohydrates: 16 grams, Sugar: 6 grams, Fiber: 1 gram, Protein: 2 gram.

These are amazing. Perfect for a little tea party paired with ice cream, mascarpone cheese, or whipped cream.

It would be great as a way to portion control or for birthday parties or dinner parties. It’s so simple to make, it’s not even funny.

I love it. The puff pastry version tastes a lot better than the pie crust version which surprised me. There was a little more flavor, a little twang that a whole heartedly welcomes.

It makes me think of a healthier version of making individual fried pies.

 

 

One thought on “Yummy Berry Purse

Leave a Reply

