Walnut Toffee Bars

I’ve been seeing recipes for toffee bars all over facebook.

Growing up, toffee bars were not even remotely part of it. I didn’t even know they existed until a few years ago.

What I do love is English toffee. Heart it. Toffee ice cream from England is by far my favorite flavor of ice cream. My aunt introduced it to me while I was visiting when I was 13. My whole entire world changed. And I can’t find it here in the States.

We had walnuts left over from New Years and this recipe happened to be on it. I had all the ingredients so I figured why not.

image

Walnut Toffee Bars

1 stick butter, melted
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 egg
1 teaspoon vanilla
2 cups flour
1/2 tsp salt
1 1/2 cups chopped walnuts
1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate pieces

Directions

In a bowl, mix butter, brown sugar, egg and vanilla until creamy.

Stir in flour, salt and 1/2 cup walnuts.

Spread into lightly buttered 13x 9 inch pan.

Bake at 350 for 25 minutes or until lightly browned.

Immediately sprinkle with chocolate pieces and let stand 5 minutes.

Spread chocolate over cookie base.

Sprinkle with remaining walnuts and press lightly.

Cool; cut into bars.

Makes 24 bars. PER BAR. Calories: 160, Carbohydrates: 16 grams, Sugar: 7 grams, Protein: 3 grams.

I have no clue what makes this “toffee”. I’m serious, obviously it has something to do with the butter, vanilla, and probably the chocolate, but still. How is this different from any other bar? I don’t know.

There’s hints of toffee in it. Which is nice. But I don’t know what I was expecting. Real toffee? Maybe. I don’t know what it is with this obsession to over sugar everything and turn it into a bar form. Cookies are no longer cookies anymore. They are now bars. Dry, crumbly bars. Sort of reminds me of shortbread from Europe. Maybe they crumble because I always half the sugar? Maybe they are more flat as well do to this halfization (yes, I just made up word).  Hell, I even halved the chocolate chips. It doesn’t need a full cup on there to spread nicely.

I must be expecting something else from this.

Does shortbread = bar in the States. I’m starting to think so.

It tastes yummy. I do like this toffee bar. I’m merely puzzled by it. Is it supposed to replicate a bar of toffee in a cookie shortbread form? I don’t know.

I’m sort of disappointed in it like I was in the Mounds Brownie. Good thing I’m figuring this out before I have kids. This way I’ll have a whole arsenal of baked goods for bake sales, PTA meetings, classroom parties, and what have you under my belt. Will this make the cut, probably. It’s easy, makes a lot in one batch, and doesn’t take too much time. Perfect for those, “I totally forgot I signed up for this, this here should work” situations. Always have a back up baked good plan.

Leave a Reply

