Slow Cooker Baked Apples

Whenever I think of baked apples, I think of fall and special occasions. This is one of those dishes that I’m pretty sure were never made during my childhood. I remember boiling apples in water when I was 13, but stuffing them with cinnamon and oats, I do not.

I love mushy apples. I love boiled apples. I love those cinnamon apples you can get at Outback with almost every steak. Most people would be put off by the texture, but not me.

I’ve been wanting to make baked apples for a while. Bryan is put off by the taste and texture, more by the texture. The biggest problem is that all the baked apple recipes I came across were either using an oven or had raisins in it. So, I made my recipe up. Because that’s what I do.

 

image
Slow Cooker Baked Apples

4 firm apples
1/4 cup old fashioned oatmeal
1 tablespoons cinnamon
1/4 cup brown sugar
4 pats of butter, divided

Directions

Using a melon baller, core each apple creating a nice place to put your oatmeal mixture.

In a small bowl, combine your oatmeal, cinnamon and brown sugar with a spoon.

Stuff each apple with your oatmeal mixture and place them inside your slow cooker.

Place one pat of butter on top of each apple.

Cook on LOW for 2 hours.

Makes 4. Calories: 164, Carbohydrates: 36 grams, Sugar: 27 grams, Fiber: 5 grams, Protein: 1 gram.

I would use a melon baller instead of a knife because, believe it or not, it’s actually easier. And you are less likely to accidentally knick the bottom of the apple. I used jonagold apples. They seemed to be more fitting. You can core out as much apple as you want, there’s no right or wrong way to do it. I scooped out a little extra apple to fit more oatmeal in to create a balance.

Whatever you do, DO NOT OVERSTUFF!!!!!! Why? They apple will explode from the oats cooking. I’m dead serious, do not do it. This happens:
image

I heart these apples. Absolutely love them. Pair it with some ice cream and caramel sauce. Eat them as a dessert. Or you can have it for breakfast. It’s like a deconstructed apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Everything is perfect. The mushiness of apples. The oatmeal. The brown sugar and cinnamon. All put together to bake the perfectly tart and sweet bite. Personally, I think you could eat these year round. But I can see how this would be more of a fall desert. I do, however, like the idea of this for breakfast.

Also the reason for the high sugar and carb count is because apples tend to be high in fructose. They also are quite high in fiber. I love it when the 4 or more grams of fiber rule works in my favor when it comes to sweets.

Eat them the same day you make them, they tend to implode after a day because of the retextured apple.

So if you’re having a small dinner party and don’t want to worry about dessert, these are easy to make and comes together quickly. Pop them in the slow cooker after dinner is made and by the time everyone is ready for dessert, the apples will be done. It’s all about being a seemingly effortless host.

Leave a Reply

