Lemon Parmesan Angel Hair Pasta with Tomatoes, Bacon and a Fried Egg

While I was home visiting Mumika, she got called into work. Yes, I still call Mumika’s house home because it’s my first home. It’s where everything major in my life, thus far, happened…minus the puppies. I’m not ready to call my house a home because it’s still in construction mode called remodeling. Will this ever remodeling end? I don’t know.

Anyways, where was I? Oh, so Mumika gets called into work to her real job. She has two jobs, one is fake, the other is real, that’s just the way her life works. And her real job starts early. And she lives 30 minutes away, but this is Houston we are talking about so make that an hour. Which means she has to wake up at the crack ass of dawn to get ready for it. The night before, I was out with my massage friends and came home relatively early (before 3AM) so I told her to wake me up when she got up that way I can make her breakfast. She woke me up at 6AM. I got up at 6AM to make her breakfast. 6 bloody A fucking M. I’m more of a 8:30, maybe 9AM and in more cases than I care to admit an 11AM person.

Yeah, I got up. And made her something so amazing, it blew her mind causing her to tell everyone at work what I did. I think she thought I was joking. She seemed genuinely surprised when I went into her room and told her breakfast was ready. Such a good and unique breakfast. Looking at it, it was art. Art that I made at 6AM in the bloody morning. That’s dedication people.

It didn’t originally come with bacon, but it’s morning time, bacon does the soul good especially when you aren’t used to being up at the crack of dawn. It took me an hour to get back to sleep after I ate and despite not taking any insulin because I know better, I woke up at 9:30 low. I used to wake up at 7AM, after my last hospitalization, make breakfast, shoot up, and go back to bed sleeping until 10AM and found myself in a low 40’s – high 30’s low every single morning. There’s rules. That became a new rule. If I get up, I must stay up to shoot up. It sucks.

And knowing that it sucks, made me add bacon. Because, as I stated before, it’s good for the soul.

Mumika absolutely adored her breakfast. That was a big plus. Also, luckily I had enough parmesan. I’m going to make it for Bryan one morning when the kitchen is finally up and remotely running.

image

Lemon Parmesan Angel Hair Pasta with Tomatoes, Bacon, and a Fried Egg

1/2 cup grated Parmesan
2 teaspoons lemon juice
zest from 1 lemon
1/2 cup cherry tomatoes
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/8 teaspoon fresh ground black pepper
4 oz angel hair pasta
1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil
2 eggs, divided
2 strips of bacon

Directions

In a large bowl, combine Parmesan, lemon juice, lemon zest, tomatoes, salt, and pepper.

Cook pasta according to directions.

Drain the cooked pasta and immediately place it in the bowl with the Parmesan mixture. Add olive oil and gently toss to combine.

While pasta is cooking, heat up a skillet and fry the bacon.

Pat dry the bacon and break it into pieces.

Using the bacon fat, fry the eggs.

For each serving, plate the pasta, sprinkle some crumbled bacon, and top with a fried egg.

Makes 2. Calories: 508, Carbohydrates: 48 gram, Sugar: 4 grams, Fiber: 3 grams, Protein: 27 grams.

I can see this as a great way to start a brunch. Add some fruit salad and some mushroom crostini with it. Maybe some mimosas. Perfect little ladies brunch.

It is absolutely amazing.

Pasta for breakfast, smartest idea ever.

I love the way the lemon and parmesan comes together. The tomatoes add some acidity and the crunchiness of the bacon compliments the fried egg.

This is definitely not you normal breakfast. I like thinking out of the box. It gets way too crammed in there anyway.

When Mumika told her coworkers what her breakfast consisted of, mind blowing occurred. Hopefully this will inspire people to rethink breakfast.

One thought on “Lemon Parmesan Angel Hair Pasta with Tomatoes, Bacon and a Fried Egg

  1. It was the best breakfast I have ever had and the pasta had so much flavor and the egg was cooked to perfection…Loved it! Thanks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

