Slow Cooker Peach Cobbler

This is the third time I’ve made this recipe. And its the second time it burned, didn’t set right, and what have you.

First time, worked like a charm. Came out perfect. Second time, burned. Third time, burned and didn’t set.

WTF!?!?!?!?

I could not figure out for the life of me what I did wrong. The worst part is the second time I made this, I had friends over and burning food is not something I’m known for. I’ve had epic fails before, but that usually happens the first time I make it. I regroup, look at the recipe again, figure out how to make it better, and try again several months later. If it works the first time, then it should work perfectly every time after that.

Not to mention Bryan’s parents are from Georgia and supposedly his grandmother’s cobbler is the most amazing cobbler ever made. There’s a lot of pressure with peach cobbler in this household. I know it won’t be anything like his grandmother’s, although it turns out I have the recipe on my phone bwhahaha. However, the man has high expectations and I like to try to meet those incredibly high expectations.

As Bryan and I eat my third attempt, it hits me why my second and third attempt was so disastrous. And it’s such a rookie mistake, but I was pressed for time and did a shortcut. I used frozen peaches instead of fresh.

How stupid am I?

Ugh.

I should have seen this coming. Frozen anything defrosts in the cooking process causing extra water. This water ends up ruining the batter by burning or not allowing it to set. Eureka! Science outsmarts me as usual on a molecular and chemical level.

Moral of the story – DO NOT USE FROZEN FRUITS! JUST DON’T DO IT! Take the time to deseed and peel or core or whatever.

Despite the burning on the sides of the slow cooker, the cobbler tasted pretty good. Almost as good as Bryan’s grandmother’s.

peachcobbler

Slow Cooker Peach Cobbler

half stick butter, melted
4 cups fresh peaches, peeled and sliced about 1/2 inch
1 teaspoon vanilla
 3/4 cup sugar, divided
1 cup flour
1 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon cinnamon
pinch of nutmeg
1 cup milk

Directions

Pour melted butter into the slow cooker

In a medium bowl, combine 1/4 cup sugar, peaches and vanilla. Toss to coat peaches.

In another bowl, place flour, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg and 1/2 cup of sugar. Stir until well combines.

Pour the milk in the flour bowl and stir until there is no lumps.

Pour batter into the slow cooker.

Slowly pour peaches on top of batter evenly.

Cover and let cook on high for 3 hours.

Makes 6. Calories: 228, Carbohydrate: 42 grams, Sugar: 28 grams, Fiber: 2 grams, Protein: 3 grams.

The recipe originally has you melt the butter in the slow cooker, while you’re peeling the peaches. You can do that, or you can cheat and use a microwave. I also reduced the sugar to a cup because the natural sweetness from the peaches.

Please keep in mind each slow cooker is different. I would check around the 2 hour mark to see how fast the batter is baking. When using the frozen peaches, 3 hours proved to be too long and the cobbler ended up burned.

I love this recipe. The cinnamon spices the peaches perfectly with a hint of vanilla.

And this is perfect for those hot summers. You can make some comfort food without losing the comfort of the AC. Or if you’re like me with no AC and only window units, this is a perfect way to make a dessert without causing your house to become so hot you nearly faint. And it’s not even August in Texas yet!

Also, not at all diabetic friendly. So, make this on special occasions and only eat a sliver of it.

One thought on “Slow Cooker Peach Cobbler

  1. Pingback: Grandma Buckholts Peach Cobbler | The DIABETIC Kitchen

Leave a Reply

