Chicken Salad in an Avocado

I love chicken salad. I love homemade chicken salad. Ok, I’ll be honest, I love my chicken salad. I hate going to a deli or a café and trying their chicken salad because without fail, the salad is too wet by an over abundant use of mayo. I hate mayo. I hate mayo with a mad passion. It’s nothing but fat and lard and who wants to put that willingly into their body. So, I hardly use any in my chicken salad.

Also, some people tend to put mustard in it. That’s not for me.

Other people use canned chicken. That is definitely not for me. Canned chicken or pouched chicken is not real chicken to me. I will take the time to cook a chicken breast and shred it before I use canned chicken. Why? Because I don’t know what’s in. What preservatives are they using? What kind of chicken parts are they using? You just don’t know. At least when you go to the grocery store and buy a chicken breast and cook it and shred it for chicken salad you know exactly what you’re getting. You are getting chicken breast.

I’ve been making chicken salad since I was a teenage. I usually turn it into a sandwich with some tomatoes and lettuce and Catalina dressing. There’s something about Catalina dressing that heightens all the flavors of the chicken salad. It creates a nice tanginess to the creaminess of the mayo. Originally my chicken salad was simple – onions, celery, relish, chicken, mayo. I’ve gotten a wee bit fancier since my teenage years. However, if you like it simple, just omit the fancy and it will still taste amazing.

Then I saw a picture of chicken salad on top of an avocado and thought, “Why haven’t I thought of that all these years?”
image

Chicken Salad in an Avocado

2 chicken breast
1/2 onion, chopped
1/2 celery stalk, chopped
20 red grapes, halves
15 grape tomatoes, halved
3 huge tablespoons mayo
5 drops tabasco sauce
1 tablespoon dill relish
2 avocados, halved and deseeded

Directions

Cook the chicken breast.

While the chicken breast is cooking, chop the celery, onions, tomatoes, and grapes and put it into a large bowl.

When chicken is done cooking, shred the chicken up and dump it into the bowl.

Add the relish, mayo and tabasco sauce.

Stir everything together until it is well combined. You can add more mayo if you feel it is too dry.

Place a substantial amount of chicken salad on top of an avocado half.

Makes 4. Calories: 345, Carbohydrates: 20 grams, Sugar: 9 grams, Fiber: 4 grams, Protein: 30 grams.

It’s high in fiber and protein.

The tabasco sauce gives it a little kick of heat. The grapes adds a little crunch. The avocado pairs perfectly with this.

You could even get some melba toasts and use it to scoop up some of the chicken salad with the avocado. Or take a fork and dig in. Does it matter how you eat it? Nope, because it will taste good no matter what. I did wish I had some catalina dressing to drizzle over it but I guess that will have to wait until next time.

This is perfect for a light lunch paired with some fruit or veggies with hummus. Or you can say screw putting it on top of an avocado, I need carbs, lets slice this avocado up and put the whole thing between two slices of bread creating an amazing sandwich. Either way works really.

Everyone should a have a filling lunch that looks cute. And on top of that, it’s portion controlled. Perfect for those ladies looking after their figure or trying to get beach ready.

Leave a Reply

