Hummus

I was in college when I was introduced to hummus. It was spring semester of my third year and all of a sudden my life revolved around hummus and Stacey’s pita chips.

Funny story about Stacey’s pita chips. A year after I moved back to Texas, I happily found them on shelves in Krogers. One of my roommates mailed me a huge bag of Stacey’s pita chips for my birthday because I was so pissed I couldn’t find them anywhere down here when I came home.

I tried to get Mumika into hummus but when she found out the nutritional value of tahini, she flipped out.

“You only use a little bit and it goes a long way,” I tried to explain, but she was having none of that.

Nearly 10 years later and she’s a hummus making machine. I don’t know what changed her mind, probably a friend of hers was all hummus is good for you and she was all like oooo, hummus.

The greatest thing about hummus is that you can add anything to it. Olives. Roasted red pepper. Dill. Garlic. Feta cheese. Jalapeños.

Below is the basic recipe. Nothing too fancy but insanely flavorful. You can use it as a base and add whatever you like to it.

Hummus

Hummus

15 oz can chickpeas
2 garlic cloves
1/4 cup lemon juice
2 tablespoons olive oil
1/2 teaspoon salt
3 tablespoons water
1/4 cup tahini

Directions

You are going to need a food processor for this.

Dump garlic and chop until minced.

Add tahini, olive oil, salt, and lemon juice. Process until it looks whipped.

Drain and rinse chickpeas. Add to the processor and process until smooth.

If it looks lumpy, add water and process again.

Makes 2 cups. PER TABLESPOON. Calories: 25, Carbohydrates: 2 grams, Fiber: 1 gram, Protein: 1 gram.

I love how this all comes together to make the perfect dip. It’s tangy, it’s spicy, it garlicy, it’s creamy. Perfection.

I personally love it with pita chips, tomatoes, or cucumbers. Although it goes well with pretty much any vegetable out there.

And it tastes so much better than store bought.

 

 

One thought on “Hummus

  1. Pingback: Creamy broccoli | The DIABETIC Kitchen

Leave a Reply

