Cheesy Corn Bulghur

Mumika loves anything with bulghur or quinoa in it. Absolutely adores it. I’m slowly getting into the whole bulghur and quinoa phase that has taken over the health freaks of the world.

Since I was at Mumika’s house, I figure why not cook food that she enjoys. When I came across this recipe, I knew it was perfect for her. She tends to make everything plain. She doesn’t really jazz up the grains. I can’t even imagine what bughar or quinoa would taste like on it’s own. Probably like rabbit food. You can make whole meals if you added other ingredients to this stuff. And then you would have this awesome one pot dinner thing going. That and more people are more likely to enjoy these grains all jazzed up.

This recipe originally had quinoa in it, however, Mumika only had bulghur and it was already late. I have no clue how it would have tasted using quinoa, but it tasted amazing with the bulghur. I think I like bulghur more than quinoa. Also, I didn’t roast the corn and I did almost everything in a rice cooker. There are times to make shortcuts, and there times when to make shortcuts. Rice cooker is a good shortcut. Because I used the rice cooker, I didn’t need the chicken broth. Which in a way is good – less calories and sodium.

image

Cheesy Corn Bulghur

1 cup uncooked bulghur
water
2.5 ears of corn, steamed
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon pepper
2 tablespoons butter
4 ounces cheddar cheese, freshly grated

Directions

Shuck the corn, sprinkle 1/2 teaspoon of salt on the ears and steam it.

Make the bulghur in the rice cooker.

Once bulghur is done cooking, fluff it and Immediately stir in butter, cheddar and remaining salt and pepper.

Add in corn and stir until completes combined.

Makes 6. Calories: 190, Carbohydrates: 8 grams, Sugar: 1 gram, Fiber: 1 gram, Protein: 6 grams.

I love corn. Everything is better with corn. And cheese. I love cheese. If you can make a side with corn and cheese, I’ll be in happyland.

I was in happyland when I ate this. Immediately.

The way the cheese sticks to the bulghur, you don’t even realize there is cheese in it. Mumika had no clue until I told her. It makes these little pop of flavor in your mouth which compliments the corn. Crunch, sweet, pop flavor. Love it.

You can always eat healthy without sacrificing flavor. Always.

 

One thought on “Cheesy Corn Bulghur

Leave a Reply

