Poached Egg over Peppers and Onions

I was supposed to make that red pepper with baked eggs galette when I was over at Mumika’s. Only problem was it would take me an hour to make and I woke up late that morning.

Time to concoct an amazing breakfast off the top of my pretty little head.

And it did take but two shakes of a lamb.

This is a more deconstructive version of what I was supposed to make. Or maybe more of a deconstructed omelet….yeah. I added cheese. I had to. It was whispering to me: add me. eat me. nomnomnom.

Just like that.

image

Poached Egg over Peppers and Onions

3 mini sweet peppers – red, yellow, orange, julienne
1/4 onion, chopped
1/4 teaspoon olive oil
a poached egg
1 ounce shredded cheddar cheese

Directions

Drizzle olive oil in a skillet over medium heat.

Dump peppers and onions into skillet and cook until onions are translucent.

While peppers and onions are cooking, in a separate pan, poach an egg.

To plate, place peppers and onions on a plate, sprinkle the cheese over it, and place the poached egg on top.

Makes 1. Calories: 237, Carbohydrates: 10 grams, Sugar: 4 grams, Fiber: 2 grams, Protein: 15 grams.

This is an awesome breakfast because it’s high in protein. There aren’t too many carbs which is great for those carb counters like myself. If you need carbs, you can always turn this into an open faced breakfast sandwich….actually that’s not a bad idea.

I really enjoyed this breakfast. It’s definitely not something I usually make but it works. The peppers and onions worked well with the egg. I loved the egg yolk dripping all over the peppers creating this rich creamy sweet and somewhat spicy flavor. Even though I used sweet peppers, there was that awesome kick of flavor they are known for. The cheese cut through everything elevating the flavor.

Maybe next time I’ll add a little bit of shaved beef to make a beef fajita open faced sandwich with a poached egg on top. Now, that sounds amazing.

One thought on “Poached Egg over Peppers and Onions

Leave a Reply

