Poached Egg over Asperagus with Parmesan and Bacon

I used to hate breakfast. It was either messy or taste like glop. Oatmeal tends to get boring as well as bland quite fast. Eggs are messy. Pancakes and waffles are messy. You can only eat so much cereal. I didn’t understand breakfast so I would skip it.

For years I didn’t eat breakfast. In college, I would only get a bite to eat if I had an early morning class. Usually a bagel with butter. Other than that, I drank coffee in the morning.

Then I got diabetes. You can’t skip breakfast when you have diabetes. Hell, you can’t even skip a meal. Why couldn’t I skip breakfast? Because the way my insulin is set up, I take the fast with the slow acting this way I don’t have to take a shot until dinner. It also makes lunch super important.

I’ll be honest, I’ve reduced my dose and took out the slow acting insulin due to my job. If I have at least two clients before lunch, I’m naturally going to go low. Yay, physical jobs!

This made my breakfast insanely important. And I can’t get away with eating cereal, pancakes, or waffles.

My first breakfast at Mumika’s was this. I wanted to make something elegant. It is more protein based than carbs, but protein is so important at the start of your day.

image

Poached Eggs over Asparagus with Parmesan and Bacon

5 spears asparagus
Poached egg
Strip of bacon
1 tablespoon parmesan
1 teaspoon olive oil

Direction

Toss olive oil with asparagus and place it on top of foil on a baking sheet.

Sprinkle parmesan cheese on top of the asparagus.

Roast asparagus at 350 for 12 minutes.

While asparagus is roasting, fry bacon and poach the egg.

Crumble bacon.

Plate with asparagus on the bottom. Sprinkle bacon over asparagus and then the poached egg on top of everything.

Makes 1. Calories: 200, Carbohydrates: 4 grams, Fiber: 2 grams, Protein: 13 grams.

This is the definition of elegant plating. And it taste so good. Asparagus, it brings new meaning to breakfast.

I think it would make a great starter for brunch. Pair it with a BLT, or a sandwich of some kind. Maybe some fruit.

It was definitely an amazing way to start my day. A person’s day can only go to the sky from such an amazing start. You could have the worst day but none of it matters because you started it right.

One thought on “Poached Egg over Asperagus with Parmesan and Bacon

Leave a Reply

