Sweet Tea

I’m from Texas. Hell, I’m from the South.

What is the South and Texas known for other than hospitality? Sweet Tea.

Sweet Tea and Hospitality goes hand in hand. First thing people ask you after welcoming you into their home: Would you like some tea?

And you can bet your bottom dollar that it is sweet tea. That’s just the way we work. So if you’re in the South, and you order just tea, remember it’s going to be sweet. And yes, there’s a difference between getting unsweet tea and putting the sugar in yourself. A) It’s a hassle. B) It doesn’t taste right and C) Just let the pro’s do it. Most places add a simple syrup to the tea or add the sugar while the tea is still in the seeping process. The sugar molecules latch on to the tea easier when it’s hot and you don’t have to worry about lumps of sugar at the bottom of your glass making you swallow nothing but sugar because you were stupid and ordered unsweeet. If sugar is the problem, do a half and half tea.

I didn’t start drinking sweet tea until college. And only when I was home. Pamina got me addicted before college by having us go to Cane’s when we were moving her into her apartment at LSU.

But I’m diabetic. I’m not allowed to drink sweet tea. Besides, most sweet tea is overly sweet. I end up doing an half and half to cut the sugar out.

So I decided to make my own.
image

Sweet Tea

5 cups of cold water
5 teaspoons sugar
1 black tea bag
6 ice cubes

Directions

Boil water.

Well boiling water, add sugar. Stir until sugar is dissolved.

Remove from heat. Add tea bag. Stir as seeping.

After 5 minutes, add ice cubes.

Once the tea has cooled down, transfer into liter carafe.

Makes 4. Per cup. Calories: 20, Carbohydrates: 5 grams, Sugar: 5 grams.

Why didn’t I ever make my own tea until now? I love this.

This tea is better than McDonalds, Bush’s, Chick-fil-a, Cane’s and any place that makes tea.

I don’t understand why people over sweeten tea. Sometimes I feel like it’s more sweetened tea syrup instead of sweet tea. And I always get sick off of it even when I make half sweet half unsweet tea. But not anymore. Now I have me own tea that’s sweet and doesn’t make me sick.

Score 1 for the little diabetic girl from Texas surrounded by gallons of sweet tea she’s not allowed to drink.

Also, I’ve notice that 5 teaspoons is the magic number in sweetening any drink in liter form.

 

One thought on “Sweet Tea

  1. Pingback: Milk Tea | The DIABETIC Kitchen

Leave a Reply

