Poached Eggs

You probably saw it. Actually I know you saw it. Two posts with poached eggs in the title. And you’re thinking, ain’t nobody got time for that…shhheeeiiittt.

But you do. You really do.

I was scared of poached eggs. Why? Because it seemed hard. You got to get the temp of the water right. You need a spoon. You need to slowly pour the egg into the water. You need to wrestle with the egg white to create a perfect white ball or mass. It looks the way I imagine a huge cancerous tumor looks. To use vinegar or not to use vinegar? that is the question. So much work for one tiny little egg.

And one of my best friends explained it to me in the best way: It’s watery eggs.

But it’s not. It really isn’t.

You have the egg white, and that creamy still liquidy yolk encased on the inside just oozing to come out and drip all over your food as if to say, “Surprise, flavor is here smothering your toast or mushrooms, or asparagus, or whatever to create happy oblivion for your taste buds to play in.

But it’s a lot of work and you have no clue how to do it or what to do.

Mumika decided to wake me up and we had a conversation in my room about this. I ended up going on the interwebs on my phone because, in all honesty, Mumika sucks at explaining things. When I asked her how to make hummus she was like you put some of this and a little bit of that and I’m all, dude I need measurements. It’s frustrating.

I came across this little gem where all I needed was some water, a skillet or saucepan, an egg, and a mason jar ring.

What.
The.
Fuck!

That was it. That’s it? That’s all I need? Are you bloody serious? Is this a joke?

But it is all you need and it is bloody serious and it is definitely not a joke.

A few words to the wise:

Do not spray Pam or cooking spray on it, it won’t work. Mumika was all mad cuz I figured out an easy way to make poached eggs but it stuck to the ring so she’s all Pam it. She literally said, “Years of experience.” Ok, I do not remember her ever poaching an egg during my time of nearly 25 years living with her. And what happened. The egg still stuck to the mason ring. You put this ring in water and the oil comes off….duh. Years of experience my ass.

The smaller the lip on the mason ring, the less likely it will stick. Figured that out using a different mason jar ring the second day I made poached eggs.

Poached Eggs

skillet
mason jar ring
a small Dixie cup
an egg
water

Directions

the result:

And that’s how you make a poached egg.

Makes 1. Calories: 74, Protein: 6 grams.

2 thoughts on “Poached Eggs

  1. Pingback: Jumble Spoiler – 06/30/14 | Unclerave's Wordy Weblog

  2. Pingback: To my readers – | The DIABETIC Kitchen

Leave a Reply

