Garam Masala

Garam masala is a mixture of spices often found at the heart of Indian cuisine. It is know for it’s sweet and savory flavor on meats like chicken, lamb, and beef. And you can never find the damn thing at the supermarket.

When you do find it at the supermarket, it’s usually a specialty store and costs like $4.99. WTF!

I ended up going to an Indian grocery store to get the garam masala. But then I moved, and I think the container is packed somewhere that I cannot reach. Then I found out, I couldn’t find it anywhere up here. But I’ve learned something since the taco seasoning….that’s right. You’ve hit it on the nail.

I can make the seasoning myself. Costs less and I have all the ingredients in my pantry. Why are we paying incredibly high prices for these items when we can make it at home.

Maybe I’ll make a seasoning kit for everyone for Christmas. With all the essential – Taco seasoning, poultry seasoning, apple pie spice, pumpkin pie spice, and garam masala.

Actually, that’s not a bad idea.

garammarsala

Garam Masala

1/2 teaspoon cumin
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon coriander
1/4 teaspoon black pepper
1/8 teaspoon ground cloves
1/8 teaspoon nutmeg
a pinch of cayenne

Makes 1 1/2 teaspoons

The great thing about garam masala is you don’t need much to bring out it’s flavor. THis is one of those, best in small doses, less is more kinds of seasonings.

2 thoughts on “Garam Masala

  1. Pingback: Slow Cooker Chicken Tikki Marsala | The DIABETIC Kitchen

  2. Pingback: Slow Cooker Chicken Tikki Marsala | The DIABETIC Kitchen

Leave a Reply

