Slow Cooker Chicken Tikki Marsala

I’ve made this before. It was before I moved up here. My last few days in Houston and I was at Mumikas.

When I came across this recipe, I knew I wanted to make it. I just didn’t know how it would come out and whether Bryan would be up for to. At least Bryan’s food motto is, “I’ll try anything once.” Mumika was my guinea pig as usual and we had a hard time finding the Indian seasoning needed. We ended up having a huge fight due to this, but the food made up for everything. I get really bitchy when I’m frustrated and the frustration is food related.

Sure I can just buy the paste or canned equivalent of it. But, I can’t bring myself to do it. I really can’t. The diabetic in me cringes the same way she cringes when she sees canned chicken as an ingredient in a recipe. She’s picky. She has to be and luckily no one questions her on it. Or rather, those living near her know better.

You can’t outsmart a diabetic when it comes to food. We know everything. Literally. Thanks to a disease where food is the devil, we have to research all day everyday. After all, diabetes doesn’t take 15 minute breaks here and there throughout the day.

So I made this and a cucumber relish to give an cool freshness to it. It came together rather nicely. And before I could get seconds, it was in the freezer. This dish was the start of Mumika freezing dinners before I could go back for more. Which means it is epic. The one that started it all. But it’s not.

This is India’s version of American Southern Comfort food – chicken and rice. So, of course the hubby would like it. Its a spin of his favorite meal growing up.

This is super easy to make. I’ve done it with chicken breasts and I’ve done it with chicken thighs. Both came out beautifully.

image

Slow Cooker Chicken Tikki Masala

1 15-ounce can crushed tomatoes, undrained
1 medium onion, chopped
2 cloves garlic, chopped
2 tablespoons tomato paste
2 teaspoons garam masala
kosher salt and black pepper
8 boneless and skinless chicken thighs
1/2 cup heavy cream
2 cups rice

Directions

In a 6 quart slow cooker, combine the tomatoes, onion, garlic, tomato paste, garam masala, and some salt and pepper.

Place the chicken on top of the mixture and cook until the chicken is tender, on LOW for 7 hours.

Twenty minutes before serving, cook the rice in rice cooker.

Just before serving, stir the cream into the chicken tikka masala.

Serve over rice.

Makes 12. Calories: 177, Carbohydrates: 20 grams, Sugar: 1 gram, Fiber: 1 gram, Protein: 12 grams. 

It smells different. Different and fragrant and then it goes into your mouth and you wonder why you questioned it. Your taste buds are all Bollywood up in your mouth. In the background of your mind you can hear and feel the beat of the Bollywood music.

Funny story about how I came to love Bollywood:
I was introduced to Bollywood in college by an Indian girl that ended up stealing over $100 worth of items and cash from me. Needless to say I made her life a living hell to the point that she had to leave. I guess that’s probably one of the reasons why people were warned not to mess with me at school. It was a tiny college of like 4000.

Anyways.

I served Bryan a small dish due to fear that he wouldn’t like it. Just because I like it doesn’t mean he’ll like and vice versa.

“There’s nutmeg, and cinnamon and something else I can’t quite put my finger on in this.” He tells me.
“Ground cloves.”
“Ah.”

And that’s how I knew he liked it. He likes to identify spices.

It’s interesting how the middle east has a whole different flavor palate. Kinda makes me feel like our cuisine is bland.

But I’ll get over it. After all, Texas has Bluebell. That’s really all that matters.

One thought on “Slow Cooker Chicken Tikki Marsala

  1. Pingback: Cucumber Relish | The DIABETIC Kitchen

Leave a Reply

