Slow Cooker Blueberry Banana Bread Oatmeal

Remember when McDonald’s first started making oatmeal. I do. About a month into it, they introduced the blueberry banana bread oatmeal. The commercials had this old black lady talking to a white girl in her 20s and at the end of the commercial the older woman says, “Oh, there’s blueberries.”

That oatmeal was amazing. Change your life and how you view oatmeal amazing. And in a blink of the eye, it was gone. Back to the fruit and maple oatmeal I went.

I’ve been hoping McDonalds would bring it back, but no such luck. Oh well, I’ll just have to make my own.

Ok, it was more like, the bananas I bought a few days ago turned yellow on me faster that I thought. I blame this house and lack of A/C. The heat ripens everything so fast, it’s not even funny. I didn’t feel like making banana bread with these now brown spotted bananas. What can I make? What do I have in the house?

*Boom* Blueberry Banana Bread Oatmeal. I need to get rid of this oatmeal anyway. I thought I would like the HEB brand of old fashioned oats, but it’s not the same Quaker so I’m a little frustrated by it. I keep getting this burned plastic taste whenever I microwave it.

So I went searching and all I found was steel cut oats and overnight nonsense.

I decided to create my own version instead. How hard could it be?

It wasn’t.

image

Blueberry Banana Bread Oatmeal

2 cup milk
1 cup water
3 tablespoons brown sugar
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
2 cups old fashioned oatmeal
3 medium mashed ripe bananas
90 blueberries

Directions

Mash the bananas, set aside.

In slow cooker, dump all ingredients (except blueberries), stir until well combined and cook on LOW for a little under 2 hours.

Right before serving, dump blueberries in and stir blueberries are evenly dispersed throughout the oatmeal.

Makes 8. Calories: 150, Carbohydrates: 32 grams, Sugar: 16 grams, Fiber: 3 grams, Protein: 5 grams. 

I love making up recipes. I love this. It smelled like banana bread while it was cooking. And it tastes like banana bread.

You got the creaminess of the oatmeal. The sweetness of the bananas. The cinnamon and brown sugar makes the awesome caramelization of the bananas which ends up enhancing the flavor overall. And then there’s the tartness and acidity of the blueberries which balances everything.

What I really liked was actually seeing chunks of banana in my oatmeal. None of this pureed crap that I saw on other blogs. I want to see what I’m eating, not just taste it.

Leave a Reply

