Chicken and Rice

A few weeks ago, Bryan asked me to make chicken and rice. He’s not one to put in a request so I had to make it.

One minor problem. I don’t know how to make it.

When I asked him how to make it, he shrugged. I’ve seen his mom make it a few times, had an idea of what the process was but other than that, I had no clue. All Bryan tells me is you make your own broth and then put the rice in it.

Yeah. Thanks sweetie. Usually I don’t freak out about this but the thing about it is Bryan comes from a Southern Comfort food background. I don’t. I don’t know what this cuisine entails. And this is one of his favorite childhood meals. So now it has to come out like his mother’s version or better. Great. No pressure whatsoever.

When I wrote about this on facebook Mumika totally missed the mark and was all, make it Puerto Rican style. That’s not the point Mumika. I know how to cook arroz con pollo. That’s not the hard part.

So I did some research and called my mother inlaw. The one time I call and she’s not home. I go by her house, it’s unlocked, the TV is on mute, the truck is in the driveway but she’s no where to be found.

Great, I guess I’m on my own.

image

Chicken and Rice

4 Chicken Breasts
enough water to completely cover the chicken
1 stalk celery, rough chopped
1 large sweet onion, diced
2 teaspoon pepper, divided
1 1/2 tablespoons salt, divided
2 tablespoons of Italian seasoning
3 cups long grain white rice
1 cup water

Directions

In a large stock pot, dump everything except the rice, 1 teaspoon of pepper and 1 tablespoon of salt into it and simmer for 2 hours.

Once simmering is complete, turn heat off and shred chicken using two forks inside the stock pot.

Add the one cup of water, the rest of the salt and pepper, and rice to the stock pot.

Stir.

Put heat on medium and cook for 15 minutes or until rice is cooked.

Makes 15. Calories: 217, Carbohydrates: 31 grams, Fiber: 1 gram, Protein: 17 grams.

It came out pretty close to his mother’s version.

Maybe next time, it’ll come out better.

“Very close. You might want to put more water in it.” Bryan tells me.

Whatever Bryan. It tastes good. That’s all that matters.

I did burn the bottom of the rice, but that’s because I nearly fainted with all this simmering and didn’t get to it in time. Gas stoves in no A/C houses produces a lot of heat. But I’ll keep the extra water in mind the next time I make it.

Not bad for my first time.

The best part about this is that technically, you could use this recipe to make your own broth. And you can shred the chicken, freeze, and use it for chicken salad, King Ranch Chicken, and Chicken Puffs.

Maybe I should start doing that. Can by own chicken broth, instead of paying 60 cents for it. Maybe. The shredded chicken would really come in handy.

Leave a Reply

