Intensely Dark Flourless Brownies

In January, I saw an old friend from my college days. I was surprised to hear he had a gluten allergy and took gluten out of his life. It made desserts near impossible unless it was crème brulee or something. Luckily, the high class Mexican Cuisine restaurant we were at understood this whole gluten free phenomenon and he was able to eat a chocolate torte.

I remember the last time I tried something gluten free, it was a cake box mix (before my diabetic days) and it was the most horrible tasting thing I had ever tried. Absolute flop.

So what is a gluten free diet? Good question. A gluten free diet is a diet where people do not eat anything with gluten in it. Aka, a diet with no protein grains like wheat, rye, barley, bulghur (Mumika would die). No more white bread, or wheat bread, or cake, cookies, brownies. Or rather, the good food that your parents were raised on that somehow this new generation of people have developed a sensitivity to.

As a diabetic, one would think I would be all over this. But I’m not. There are things I’m willing to sacrifice and things I am not willing to sacrifice. I pick my battles, this is not one of them.

But I did come across this flourless brownie recipe and if I’m going to maybe consider going to the dark side of where all health food freaks live (where believe or not, I once did live), I might as well start with a brownie.

Of course I couldn’t let the recipe stand as is. I changed it. How? I had a 92% dark chocolate bar lying about and well, I just had to put it in it. And I couldn’t find the normal cocoa, so dark chocolate cocoa it is.

I heart dark chocolate.

image

Intensely Dark Flourless Brownies

1 stick butter
3 squares of 92% dark chocolate (I used Lindt)
1/2 cup sugar
3 large eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 cup dark chocolate cocoa powder

Directions

Melt the butter in the microwave.

Break the chocolate bar into little bits over the hot melted butter and stir.

Add the sugar and stir.

Add the eggs, one at a time, stirring to mix each of them into the batter.

Stir in the vanilla extract.

Gently stir in the cocoa powder, so there won’t be any lumps.

Once the cocoa is full combined with the batter, stop stirring. It will be thicker than usual.

Spread the batter in a 9X9 baking dish that has been sprayed with cooking spray.

Bake at 350 for 20 – 25 minutes or until the edges pull away from the sides a bit.

Makes 10. Calories: 170, Carbohydrates: 14 grams, Sugar: 11 grams, Fiber: 2 grams, Protein: 3 grams.

This is the most moistest brownie I have ever eaten. Instead of using a whole bar, I used 3 squares because that’s all I had. And it still worked!

It’s ooey and gooey and absolutely perfect. All other brownies are blown out of the water. Flour? Who the hell needs flour. Well at least not in brownie form.

You know what that means. It means now I have to try other flourless deserts.

 

One thought on “Intensely Dark Flourless Brownies

  1. Pingback: Enjoying Flourless Baking | Recipes for a Healthy You

Leave a Reply

