Greek Tortellini Salad

In what seemed nearly a lifetime ago, I was in a wedding. I’m not going to talk about what happened at the wedding, because well, what’s done is done and that’s life and I took the bridezilla out of my life. A person can only take so much from another person before their sanity starts bailing.

At her wedding, which was in the afternoon, she decided on doing finger food instead of feeding the guests. There was red punch in a room away from the food, crackers, cold cut meats and cheese cubes, and sandwiches which were more like two slices of bread with some cheese, a glob of mayo and meat cut into fourths. There was also a tortellini salad like thing which was pretty much tortellini drenched in Italian dressing with tomatoes and olives. And I think that was it. I don’t remember much because I was hiding under a tent away from the reception trying to calm down from realizing I was a toy and a fool….. until the damn event planner got me and forced me to make my “maid of honor” speech even though the bride had decided the day before to bestow that role onto someone else. (Oh, look, I did write about it!).

The food was so pitiful, I had to go eat somewhere because I was starving. I hadn’t eaten a thing all day until the reception. And even that spread was lackluster. It was so sad. It made me sad looking at it. If your going to have a wedding between 2 and 3PM, please have the decency to feed people correctly, especially when it’s hot and muggy outside and the ceremony is outdoors. Maybe that’s why I picked a 4PM time for my wedding. I wanted to make sure they got a good meal in before many of them made their long 4 – 5 hour trips home.

I used to love cold tortellini salad, but for the most part it reminds me of that wedding.

Moral of the story – If you don’t want to be maid of honor, do not feel obligated to say yes. No is a perfectly accepted answer. I really should have said no.

And then I created this Greek Tortellini Salad, and all is right in the world.

I loved my Greek Pasta Salad. But there was something missing.

Tortellini!

So I revamped it. And even though there aren’t any avocadoes or walnuts, it still came out amazing!

image

Greek Tortellini Salad

1 20 ounce package cheese tortellini
1 1/2 cups grape tomatoes, cut in half
1 large cucumber, chopped
1/2 red onion, chopped
3/4 cup crumbled feta cheese
1/4 cup Greek vinaigrette
4 thinly slices chicken breasts

Directions

Cook tortellini based on package instructions.

While tortellini is cooking, pan fry chicken until it’s cooked and slice it into chunks.

Place the tortellini and chicken into a large bowl.

Add the tomatoes, cucumber, olives, red onion, and feta cheese.

Pour Greek vinaigrette over the salad and mix into it until well combined.

Makes 12. Calories: 248, Carbohydrates: 24 grams, Sugar: 1 gram, Fiber: 1 gram, Protein: 17 grams.

It’s yummy. Bryan kept asking for more. What was supposed to last one day only lasted a day.

This would be great for a picnic.

Leave a Reply

