Essentially Cool Whip

I know you’ve watched the commercials, woman at a diner or in the grocery store gets some pie and the waitress or person giving our samples ask if she wants cream or oil. Cream is the reddi-whip, oil is the cool whip. It’s a marketing ploy designed for you to have an epiphany about what’s in your food. DO you want to give your kids cream, or do you want to give them oil? No one’s going to pick oil. No one.

But, I’ve noticed that cool whip is in a lot of these icebox pie recipes. And I really need pure ingredients not bloody oil.

Cool whip’s ingredients – WATER, HYDROGENATED VEGETABLE OIL (COCONUT & PALM KERNEL OILS), HIGH FRUCTOSE CORN SYRUP, CORN SYRUP, SKIM MILK, CONTAINS LESS THAN 2% OF LIGHT CREAM, SODIUM CASEINATE, NATURAL AND ARTIFICIAL FLAVOR, XANTHAN AND GUAR GUMS, POLYSORBATE 60, SORBITAN MONOSTEARATE, SODIUM POLYPHOSPHATE, BETA CAROTENE (COLOR). CONTAINS: MILK.

I really don’t want to put that in my body. I mean, there’s TWO CORN SYRUPS in it!!!!!

While I was preparing to make my strawberry shortcake cupcakes, it occurred to me that I could make cool whip by using cream. Duh Michelle. Geez. Get on the ball weirdo.

So for all the people worried about eating oil, here is your solution.

Image

Homemade Cool Whip

1 cup cold heavy whipping cream
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 tablespoons sugar

Directions

Place all the ingredients in the cold bowl and beat with a mixer until stiff peaks are about to form.

Makes about 2 cups. PER 2 TABLESPOONS. Calories: 58, Carbohydrates: 2 gram, Sugar: 2 grams.

This tastes just like cool whip except a little more creamier. It looks just like cool whip. It can be stored in a airtight container just like cool whip.

If you want it to be more of a frosting, beat it until stiff peaks form. Great alternative to buttercream of vanilla frosting in a canister for cakes and cupcakes.

Because I was making a strawberry shortcake cupcake, I decided to keep it in it’s cool whip form.

This homemade cool whip can be a great substitute for anything that has cool whip listed as an ingredient and it literally takes 5 minute to whip up.

I think I like this better though. And it will go great with my cupcakes.

One thought on “Essentially Cool Whip

  1. Pingback: Strawberry Shortcake Cupcakes | The DIABETIC Kitchen

Leave a Reply

