Slow Cooker Cheesy Pepper Steak

This isn’t the first time I’ve made this. I didn’t like how it turned out last time so I ended up doing things a little different.

It’s not that the original recipe wasn’t good, it was. I just don’t like using bouillon cubes instead of beef broth. And then having to take all the stuff out of the slow cooker to make the gravy wasn’t my thing.

Then I started wondering why rice was made separately. I mean, you put it on top of the rice with the gravy. Why not put the rice in the slow cooker to absorb the extra juices? Then you can mix it all up and just serve it out of one pot instead of dirtying a rice cooker, a bowl, and a crockpot.

I’m all about simplifying things. That or I’m really lazy. Probably more the latter. Sometimes, questions pop up and you end up saying fuck it, I’m doing it my way.

And then I added cheese on top. Who doesn’t like cheese? Cheese is the most amazing food ever created. Ok, more like one of the most because ice cream is pretty amazing and so are smoothies.

One of Mumika’s “friends” (it’s a woman I can’t stand and her very existence frustrates me) conned us into going to one of those Juice Plus meetings. I had been dodging them for 3 years and all she said was, “Hey, want free food?” The college student in was all over it.

Mumika and I get there and I realized immediately what I had walked into. I guess it wouldn’t have been so bad if a clinical nutritionist was doing the powerpoint but it was a nurse. And I’m all like shouldn’t you be taking people’s blood or something and not telling me what I should or shouldn’t eat? She was telling the people there how meat is the devil and cheese is the son of the devil and we can get the same amount of protein and calcium from broccoli and other fruits and vegetables. Well that’s just Ludacris. And because I felt that way when the Q&A came up, asked questions. I’m that person you don’t want in a Q&A panel because I will literally ask you the one question you don’t know that I already know the answer to and then school you on what you just presented making you feel like a complete buffoon.

Yeah, she didn’t like me too much. She didn’t like Mumika either because Mumika started chiming in. Mumika’s friend was absolutely mortified.

Sorry, but you do not tell me that if I want a better life I need to cut out cheese. I can’t do it. I can’t cut out soda, pasta, or corn. I’m that person that loves all the bad things health freaks ban from their diet and happily divulges into it. Why? Because after two near death experiences, who the hell cares what you eat. You can eat whatever you want as long as it’s in moderation. Why have strict diets if on your deathbed you look at you’re grandchild and say, “Man, I really should have eaten more corn, ice cream, and bacon while I could.” I seriously can’t live without cheese. I’m diabetic, there are not carbs in cheese. And there’s protein! It’s the perfect snack when I don’t feel like fucking up my numbers. And I always feel that way. Always.

Stupid nurse telling me to give up cheese to reach optimum health. Um, yeah, that want is long gone sister, I gots the diabetes now. And no, it’s not the kind I can reverse with exercise and eating right. If it was, I wouldn’t have this evil condition.

the first time I made it

the first time I made it

Slow Cooker Cheesy Pepper Steak

2 pounds beef sirloin, cut into thin strips
1 tablespoon Garlic powder
1/4 cup beef broth
1 Tablespoon cornstarch
1/2 cup onion, sliced
1 14.5 ounce can stewed tomatoes, do not drain
3 tablespoons soy sauce
1 teaspoon sugar
1 teaspoon salt
1 large green bell pepper, sliced
1 large red bell pepper, sliced
1 1/2 cups of rice
1 1/2 cups of cheddar cheese, shredded

Directions

Spray slow cooker with non-stick cooking spray.

Place beef on bottom of crock pot and season with garlic powder.

Mix cornstarch into beef broth until it is dissolved and pour on top of the meat.

Stir in onion, stewed tomatoes, soy sauce, sugar, and salt.

Cook on High for 4 hours

For the last 30 minutes of cooking, add the sliced peppers and rice and mix until well combined.

When the cooking time is done, turn the slow cooker to warm and add the melting cheese.

Makes 10. Calories: 220, Carbohydrates: 15 grams, Sugar: 4 grams, Fiber: 1 gram, Protein: 19 grams. 

So much better.

That, and if you can put everything in one pot, why not actually do it? Isn’t this what the slow cooker/crockpot meals were designed for anyway? Dump, crank of high, ignore it for like 4 hours, and then before you know it dinner is hot and ready.

At first I was scared the rice wasn’t going to cook. Then I left it alone while on warm, and all of the sudden the rice was ready.

And like I said before, cheese makes everything better.

Leave a Reply

