Chicken and Mushrooms in Fontina Wine Sauce

Sometimes you find this awesome recipe that you can’t wait to try and find out you can’t find an ingredient anywhere. If I was in Houston I would just go to Krogers and boom, there it would be.

It’s the whole meat ravioli situation from New Years all over again.

I couldn’t find asiago cheese anywhere in this small town I live in. Hell, two days ago I was looking for those little mozzarella balls, couldn’t find those anywhere either. When did these food items become specialty food? Today, two towns over at an HEB Plus! I found the mozzarella balls. I really hate the country sometimes. Maybe my father inlaw is right, maybe I am too complex. Or maybe these country people don’t know what awesome food is. Have you noticed most of their food comes with gravy?!?!?!

Bryan laughed at me when I told him this.
“Michelle, this isn’t like how you grew up with grocery store right around the corner from your house. This isn’t a 5 minute walk, it’s a 15 mile journey.”

I used to make fun of country people and their lack of a grocery store near them. Mumika and I would go on road trips, pass through a town and I would be like where’s the grocery store? I haven’t seen one in like an hour. How do these people eat? Do they FedEX their food in?

And now I’m one of them. I turn right to get into town, and I can find normal food but if I want what I think is normal food but in reality it turns out it’s not normal food, I have to turn left and drive 17 minutes to get to the closest grocery store. I realize these HEB’s and what have you are all different and it’s all about supply and demand and what flies off the shelves the fastest. But still.

And I still have no clue where I can find frozen meat ravioli in central Texas.

There’s a few things I had to change. 1) the cheese. 2) I’m sorry but no one should have to take the chicken out of the pan more than once. I swear, every other step was take the chicken out of the pan. Now put the chicken in the pan, Oh, but now you have to take it out of the pan. OMG. Stop the madness. Fuck that shit. Fuck it to hell. How many times am I going to cook this damn chicken. Besides it’s not going to get flavor penetrated into it if you are boiling it in sauce five times. If anything, you get rubber chicken instead of succulent chicken. 3) People do not think when they cook. They just try to be all fancy smancy not realizing the burden 20 steps to cook one bloody meal entails. I tried to shorten the steps. TRIED being the key word. 4) The type of white wine was not specified at all which irks me. Do I use a dry white wine or a mildly sweet wine. If I put the wrong wine in it, it will be disastrous. But considering I changed the cheese, I decided a mild Moscato would work perfectly and it did. 5) I paired this with pasta and immediately wished I didn’t. It tastes amazing with the pasta, it taste amazing in general. But the whole dish looked one sided. Pale on top of pale. If I had put spinach in it, the whole dish would have brightened and look more appetizing.

After all, we perceive yumminess before actually tasting it. I’m pretty sure that’s where the “eyes are bigger than my stomach” saying comes from. Food doesn’t have to look like art, all though it’s fun when it does look like art, it just has to look pleasing to the eye. That’s why people take pics of their food now. We live in a look how yummy this food I just ate looked before I ate it society. But remember, sometimes looks are deceiving.

image

Chicken and Mushrooms in Fontina Wine Sauce

1 1/2 lb boneless skinless chicken breast, cut into pieces
2 cups mushrooms, sliced
1 large onion, sliced
1 cup Moscato
1/4 cup cornstarch
1 Tablespoon butter
3 Tablespoons olive oil
1/4 cup heavy cream
1/2 cup shredded Fontina

Directions

Heat 2 Tablespoons olive oil in deep skillet over medium.

Dredge Chicken in cornstarch until chicken is evenly coated.

Heat 2 tablespoon of olive oil in a skillet over medium heat. Sauté chicken until browned nicely.

Take chicken out of skillet and set aside.

Add the other tablespoon olive oil and the tablespoon of butter to the hot skillet. Sauté mushrooms and onions until mushrooms begin to brown and onions become translucent.

Add white wine to skillet and return chicken to pan.

Bring to a boil, then reduce to a simmer and cover for 15 minutes.

Add the cream and cheese, stirring to melt cheese. Continue stirring until well combined.

Makes 8. Calories: 257, Carbohydrates: 7 grams, Sugar: 2 grams, Fiber: 1 gram, Protein: 23 grams.

This is super yummy. This is fancy smancy cuisine you find at an upscale Italian restaurant.

I live how the wine penetrated everything giving off this nice sweetness to off set the nuttiness of the mushroom and fontina. Everything came together so well.

But I really wish I had used spinach instead of pasta. I think the spinach would have heighten the flavor because it naturally compliments the onion and the mushroom. But I guess that will just have to be for next time.

You could also put it over mashed potatoes, but I think it would make the whole dish look rather bland. White on white = boring in the food world. It’s all about splashes of color.

Leave a Reply

