Strawberry Pie Filling

Fourth of July is tomorrow. And how does America celebrate their birthday? With BBQ and pie.

There’s nothing more American than pie.

Well, Pie, BBQ and baseball. Maybe football too.

You could go to the store and buy a pie, or you could make your own. There’s apple, pecan, and a fresh no bake strawberry.

I’ve always loved strawberry pie. I blame my friend Nate. And for years I’ve been trying to find a good recipe to make the strawberry filling. I didn’t want something too sweet, or where the strawberries are non-existent because they’ve been cooked to death. I like to taste my fruit in my pies and not have them diced and boiled into oblivion. On top of that, I didn’t want to have to put cornstarch or flour to thicken the glaze. These are things I worry about when I eat pie at restaurants. Especially when they claim it’s homemade.

After an intensely frustrating search, I found something I could modify.

The recipe called for diced strawberries. Yeah, fuck that. We’re going to use whole strawberries. I want to literally taste the fruit, see the fruit. Be one with the fruit.

This filling is great for one pie or to make hand pies. Nothing is better than mobile portion controlled pies.
image

Strawberry Pie Filling

1 ½ cups whole strawberries
1/3 cup sugar
Half a lemon, juiced

Directions

Combine the strawberries, sugar, and lemon juice in a medium pot and bring to a boil while stirring.

Reduce to medium heat and simmer while stirring.

As strawberries cook through, mash the strawberries.

Once strawberries are mashed and syrup is think and glossy, put pot in the fridge to let cool down.

Makes 20 tablespoons. PER TABLESPOON. Calories: 16, Carbohydrates: 4 grams, Sugar: 4 grams.

It’s sweet, it taste like strawberries. It’s better than any pie filling I have ever tasted. Throw those pie filling cans away, and start canning this to use at a later date.

It taste better than any bakery/grocery store/café pie filling I have ever tasted. This is why things should be handmade.

So go get a pint of strawberries, a lemon, some pie crusts and make an amazing better than any pie you will ever eaten pie.

Dare to be different this July 4th.

This can fill up a whole pie or make 20 hand pies.

 

 

Leave a Reply

