Potato Salad using Greek Yogurt

I was not raised on potato salad. I know what potato salad is, I even prefer the mustardy ones, but how to make it, no clue. In fact, Mumika had never made a potato salad until I was 13. She was trying to impress the guy she was dating with her culinary skills. So she borrowed people’s recipes and got this one from a friend. Unfortunately her friend did not give her the measurements so the potato salad came out a little crunchy. That was also the one and only time she has made potato salad in her life.

Potato salad is an American side that you always see in the south when having picnics or doing BBQ. We southerners use mustard in our potato salad in conjunction with the mayo. It’s not a potato salad unless mustard is in it.

When I had decided that I was going to make potato salad, I had asked Mumika for the recipe but she couldn’t find it in time. I knew what I wanted in it – eggs, bacon, green onion, relish, but I didn’t know how much I needed of everything.

After going through a few recipes, I came up with my own.

The thing that gets to me about potato salad is the amount of mayo that’s in it. Most recipes call for 11/2 cups of mayo. That’s too much for me. I had been reading about how greek yogurt is a great substitute for mayo as long as you use the 2% and not the fat free. Only problem is, I don’t need 32 ounces of plain greek yogurt so I got the fat free and added some reduced fat mayo. Why reduced fat? 2 grams fat, 2 grams carbs verses 10 grams fat, no carbs regular mayo. I know that when things are fat free or even reduced fat, they usually add a few carbs to it to make up for what they took out. I can deal with 2 measly grams of carbs, I can’t deal with 10 grams of fat.

I also decided 1 mustard was not good enough for me and used two instead. I weird like that.

To backtrack a little here’s a few things you need to know about this potato salad:
1) I’ve never made potato salad before
2) I used Greek yogurt
3) Reduced fat mayo is worth it.
4) There’s bacon, eggs, and relish in it
5) I used two mustards

potatosalad

Potato Salad using Greek Yogurt

4 pounds of russet potatoes, quartered
4 eggs, hard boiled
5 green onions, finely chopped
3 strips of bacon, crumbles
3 tablespoons yellow mustard
3 tablespoons Dijon mustard
5 tablespoons sweet relish
6 oz Greek yogurt
1 teaspoon salt
2.5 tablespoons mayo

Directions

Put the potatoes in a large pot of water. Sprinkle the salt in it. Boil until fork tender

While potatoes are boiling, fry bacon and hard boil the eggs.

Rough chop eggs when done and have cooled down.

When potatoes are fork tender, drain in colander and set aside until potatoes are warm.

In a huge bowl, dump egg, bacon, and green onions.

Peel potatoes.

Dump peeled potatoes into the bowl and mash with a spoon as you mix the potatoes with the eggs, bacon, and onions.

Add the mustards, yogurt, mayo, relish to the bowl and stir until well combined.

Makes 12. Calories: 118, Carbohydrates: 15 grams, Sugar: 4 grams, Fiber: 2 grams, Protein: 6 grams.

This came out amazing. Not bad for my first time and using Greek yogurt.

The reason for two mustards are because they compliment each other. The yellow gives you acidity and the Dijon gives it a nice kick of tanginess. Also, by using these mustards you eliminate the need for pepper, salt, and paprika.

I also decided to use sweet relish instead of dill. Why? I don’t need tanginess from pickles because that’s the Dijon’s job. So I used sweet relish to compliment the flavors of the mustards. I could have used gherkins, but I didn’t feel like washing my knife 16 bazillion times. Relish is, after all, chopped pickles. So why not use already chopped ones.

I love how I still get that creaminess from the yogurt even though mayo was barely used.

Bryan couldn’t believe I used Greek yogurt. I’m trying to get us to eat a little healthier even though, we already eat pretty healthy compared to most of the American population. That and he knows I hate mayo so if I find a great substitution, he’s all for it.

That and I felt it cancelled out the use of bacon.

I love the bits of bacon and egg. It’s a surprise for my taste buds in every bite. That and it’s protein in a carb and normally fat laden dish. My blood sugar is probably thanking me for that.

If anything, I think the potato salad is the epitome of southern picnic sides.

Leave a Reply

