Grandma Buckholts Peach Cobbler

Bryan hearts himself some peach cobbler. In the past year I have made peach cobbler 5 times so far. 3 of which were in slow cooker form.

But the peach cobbler he loves the most us his grandmother’s. Turns out she was an amazing cook and baker. So when I found a fruit cobbler recipe in her cookbook her children had made from recipes she had handwritten, I was all yes, I have the most amazing cobbler recipe known to man.

Then I read it out loud to Bryan and his mom and they both said it sounded wrong. How could it be wrong? Its in her bloody cookbook. Fuck it. I’m going to make it anyway.

So I made it exactly like the recipe and Bryan says that it is definitely not his grandmothers recipe. But. And then he says that maybe it is…he doesn’t remember.

What!?!?!?! The man that claims he can remember numbers, faces, smells, and what thing tastes like can’t remember!?!?!?!

Luckily we went his sister’s house later and confirmed the recipe I found was, indeed, the grandmother’s recipe.

Although this is an amazing recipe I have some qualms about it. If I’m going to have that much bread, then I need more than 3 1/2 cups if peaches. Also, nothing needs 3 sticks of butter. Nothing. And it called for 2 cups of sugar. Yeah, screw that.

So I modified it.
image

Grandma Buckholts Peach Cobbler

1 cup flour
1 stick butter, melted
2/3 cup sugar
2 tablespoon baking powder
2 teaspoon vanilla
2 eggs
1/4 teaspoon salt
3 cups peaches, peeled and sliced

Directions

In a medium bowl, whisk eggs until fluffy.

Add all ingredients except peaches to eggs.

Mix until well combined. Batter my seem stiff.

Place peaches in glass 8X8 dish.

Spread batter evenly over peaches.

Bake at 350 for 45 minutes.

Makes 9.

Bryan prefers the original over this one. I prefer this one. Not as much batter and lots of peaches. But everyone has their own preference.

If you fear your peaches aren’t sweet you can sprinkle some sugar on them. If you use frozen, you might want to do that.

I like sprinkling dashes of cinnamon on top of the batter.

Its cobbler is buttery and sweet and goes well with the peaches. I can see myself using this recipe for other fruit cobblers.

This is one of those cobblers where its gone before you know it and everyone will want seconds.

One thought on “Grandma Buckholts Peach Cobbler

  1. Pingback: What this blog is actually about | The DIABETIC Kitchen

Leave a Reply

