Pao de Queijo

The World Cup is going on the Brazil…still.

Despite being raised European, soccer is definitely not my sport. I think it might be because there is too much running and in 5th grade our PE teachers ran us to death. TO DEATH. If we didn’t complete a mile by a certain time, we had to run another mile. This went on for what seemed like 3 months. Running and running and more running and guess what!?!?!? More running. It was endless. And so started my hatred for running.

Brazil made it to the quarter finals and was destroyed by Germany. 7- 1. Ouch.

I was first introduced to these amazing little breads and a Brazilian Steakhouse that had opened near my apartment in Houston. The old steakhouse had closed down and the new one popped up. Bryan and I went when they started giving out coupons and we immediately fell in love with these.

A few months later, the steakhouse started getting a bad rep so I haven’t been there since. But I’ve been craving these stupid little cheese breads.

Pao de Queijo is sold everywhere in Brazil but mainly in bakeries and food stands. What makes these different is the use of tapioca flour in lieu of regular flour. Hence gluten free. Yay gluten free.
image

Pao de Queijo
1 large egg
1/4 cup olive oil
2/3 cup milk
1 1/2 cups tapioca flour
3/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup packed shredded Mexican like cheese

Directions

In a large bowl combine egg, oil, milk, flour and salt.

Add cheese, and mix until well combined.

Spray a mini muffin tin with cooking spray and pour batter into wells until full.

Bake at 400 for 20 minutes.

Makes 23.

I used a melting Mexican cheese for the cheese. Some people use parmesan, others queso fresco. I decided to use queso asadero instead.

You could also use a blender instead but I have no clue where my blend was so I did everything by hand. It still came out amazing.

If the middle of the cheese bread concaves, that’s normal. No need to worry.

I absolutely adore these little breads. I love how cheesy and chewy they are. They will come out chewy so don’t freak out and pop them in the oven to cook them more.

This is not your normal sort of bread. However, it’s great to serve with stews, meats, and in my case a deconstructed Philly cheesesteak. It would work as an appetizer.
image

One thought on “Pao de Queijo

  1. Pingback: Deconstructed Steak and Cheese | The DIABETIC Kitchen

Leave a Reply

