Deconstructed Steak and Cheese

When I was in undergrad, my college had an amazing cafeteria that we shared with MassArt. Everyday was filled with yummy food that I forgot I had an eating disorder and started eating again.

If it wasn’t a blt with swiss, or a salad, I was eating a steak and cheese. Which is essentially a cheesesteak. Boston likes to have their own lingo and whenever I called it a cheesesteak someone would correct me. I loved the steak and cheese. Add BBQ sauce to it and it was perfect. I would eat it every day for weeks. I’m pretty sure that’s what helped me balloon up to 165.

I came across this recipe and was like, OMG, it’s a steak and cheese without the bread! Meaning, it’s carb free and gluten free. I’ll be honest, I got excited. I got really excited. It’s one of those, I can’t really eat it unless I take extra insulin due to the amount of bread in it. Instead of the bread, the bell pepper is the bread and you stuff the cheese and steak and onions into it.

Pretty amazing!
image

Deconstructed Steak and Cheese

1 pound of thinly sliced steak
1/2 onion, sliced
6 bell peppers, halved and deseeded
12 slices of provolone cheese
1 tablespoon lawdry’s seasoned salt
1 tablespoon garlic powder
1 tablespoon onion powder

Directions

Season steak with Lawdry’s, garlic, and onion.

Cook steak with onions in a skillet until steak is fully cooked and onions are translucent. Stir occasionally to make sure you don’t burn the onions.

Stuff steak and onion mix into each half of the bell peppers.

Cover steak mixture stuffed in bell pepper with a slice of provolone cheese.

Bake at 350 for 15 minutes.

Makes 12. Per Bell pepper half.

It’s portable. You don’t have to use a knife or fork.

And it tastes like steak and cheese.

I love it. I love it so much.

It’s so much fun to eat. Great for lunch. You could technically put these things on a grill and grill it. But baking works as well. If you need a bread of some sort, make Pao de Queijo. It’s also gluten free.

Yay gluten free meals.

Leave a Reply

