What to cook, what to cook!

Mumika is coming to visit today. Usually I have a menu all set up for her, but I don’t.

In fact, I don’t know what I want to cook while she’s in town. My mother inlaw wants to learn how to cook Puerto Rican chicken and rice so I might have Mumika make some while she’s in town. Although, in Puerto Rican culture, Mumika doesn’t technically know how to make Puerto Rican food. In Puerto Rico, you learn how to cook from your mother in law so that your husbands food stays the same all his life. My Dad was a typical Englishman, so she learned how to cook to his liking instead.

Who taught her? My Titi Rosie, Mumika’s younger sister. Despite visiting Puerto Rico before my dad died (I celebrated my first birthday there and we went there for Christmas when I was like 5), I didn’t know Puerto Rican food existed outside of Puerto Rico. As I have stated in a previous post, she didn’t start cooking Puerto Rican food until years after my dad died. So my range of Puerto Rican food is quite limited.

But I do love her arroz con pollo.

We are probably going to the Puerto Rican grocery store today and a Puerto Rican restaurant after, so I won’t have to cook today.

Tomorrow, she’ll probably make the arroz con pollo.

Leaving me to figure out Sunday and Monday.

Hmmmmm………

Sunday Dinner: Mushroom Bacon Stuffed Pork Tenderloin with a Bacon Asparagus Pasta.
Monday Dinner: Garlic Beef Enchiladas with Tostones

Yeah. That sounds good.

She wants me to do the strawberry hand pies as well. Third time might be a charm.

Leave a Reply

