Mac and Cheese Stuffed Meatballs

Every week I seems, I go through a whole cooking blog saving recipes that peak my interest. I think I have about 500+ recipes in my favorites and that doesn’t include the scores of recipes saved on my personal facebook page or the 100 recipes in my phone and about 25 of them in Bryan’s phone which I accosted one night while at a friend’s house. Most of them are sweet based. Some of them are insane and make no sense but it sounds yummy and who am I to back down from a challenge.

Sometimes, I read these titles aloud to Bryan just to see his reaction.

“Mac and Cheese Stuffed Meatballs,” I read.
“Oh, that sounds amazing,” he replies.
“Really?”
“Yes!”
“I can make them tomorrow if you want.”
“Ok.”

I hate it when he says ok. He claims I live in a way too harsh black and white world of love and hate, yes and no. But I mean seriously, there is no extreme like in the food world. It’s either OMG amazeballs, or it’s what the fuck was this person raving about and why was I so stupid to even try it. Bryan, however, lives in an okay world where everything tastes okay. So okay means good, good means amazing, babe you really outdone yourself means holy shit where have you been in my life. Most of the time I get a mere okay. And if he puts his two cents in, it means, eh, but it could be better if you (enter idea in here).

Ok also means whatever when I ask him what he wants for dinner. That’s because I’ll think of something and five minutes change it, and then two minutes after that give him 2 more choices and about 2 hour later I’m fretting over his choice and end up doing what I originally had decided. Okay is his lets shut you the hell up before you get silly reply.

Needless to say I couldn’t tell if he was serious or not so I thought fuck it, this looks like fun, let’s do it. It was more frustrating than fun.

image

Mac and Cheese Stuffed Meatballs

Meatballs
Mac and cheese
12 small cubes of sliced cheddar cheese

Directions

Make Mac and cheese as instructed on recipe.

Let the mac and cheese cool in the fridge. DO NOT TAKE OUT UNTIL FULLY COOLED.

While Mac and Cheese is cooling, make the meatballs in a medium bowl.

Separate meat mixture into 12 meatballs.

Once Mac and Cheese is cooled down, flatten a meatball, put a spoonful of mac and cheese on top of the meat in the center and a small cube of cheese on top of the mac and cheese.

Take the sides of the meatball and fold it over the mac and cheese and cube of cheese reforming a meatball.

Place the new meatball in one of the wells of a 12 muffin muffin tin.

Do this 11 more times.

Place muffin tin in oven and bake at 350 for 20 minutes.

Makes 12. PER MEATBALL.

I didn’t know I needed to fully cool down the mac and cheese. So while luke warm, I’m spooning and the meat mixture falls apart in my hand. The assembly was more frustrating than I thought it would be. Next time I do this, I’m going to make sure I’m a mom first and my kids are roughly around 10 and then I’m going to form an assembly line of them.

It came out okay. I don’t really know what I was anticipating. It’s different. It’s very American. I don’t see Europe thinking how can we modernize a meatball. It’s sort of cool though once you start thinking about it. Two comfort foods become one in this rather portable entity.

The meatballs will be huge and you will have mac and cheese left over. Just promise me you will wait until the Mac and Cheese is cooled down before using it to stuff the meatballs. I cannot stress enough the importance of this one simple step.

Other than that. Bon appetit.

 

Leave a Reply

