Mushroom and Bacon stuffed Pork Tenderloin

Mumika’s visit was shorter than I thought it would be. She essentially stayed for the weekend. I was hoping to get her recipe for pollo con arroz pero I think she was trying to show off when she made it. It came out bland and I was highly disappointed.

When I found out I was only going to cook for her 1 day I gave her a choice:
Garlic Beef Enchiladas with To stones
or
Mushroom and Bacon stuffed Tenderloin with an Asparagus Bacon Pasta.

I should have known she was going to pick the pork one.

Even though I hate pork, I figured if I stuff it with something I would be fine.

And then I realized in the middle of making it, I didn’t have a meat tenderizer.

mushbaconpork

Mushroom and Bacon stuffed Pork Tenderloin

6 slices bacon, chopped
8 ounces mushrooms, chopped
1 clove garlic, finely chopped
1 tablespoon breadcrumbs
1/2 pork tenderloin
1/2 tablespoon dijon mustard
salt & black pepper to taste

 

Directions

Cook bacon until crisp.

Add the mushrooms, 1/4 teaspoon pepper and garlic. Cook until soft. Remove from the heat and stir in the breadcrumbs.

Butterfly the pork. It’s when you cut the meat lengthwise but not all the way through and is able to open it like a book. Pound the meat until it’s about 1/2″ thick.

Cover the pork with the mushroom mixture.

Starting with a long side, roll up tenderloin and secure with toothpicks.

 Rub salt and pepper all over the outside of the pork. And then spread the Dijon mustard over that.

Bake at 400 for 25-30 minutes or just until pork reaches 160 degrees. Remove from pan and let rest 10 minutes before slicing.

Makes 8.

Due to lack of space, I wasn’t able to roll it tightly. Also, because I didn’t have a meat tenderizer, I had to improvise flattening the tenderloin.

It was the whole empanada fiasco all over again. I ended up putting the piece of meat on top a plastic lid for mixing bowls, place a paper plate on top of the meat and take an actual hammer to it.

There were holes. So when I rolled the tenderloin with mushroom bacon stuffing on it, the mixture fell out the holes.

Did it stop me? Nope.

When you buy pork tenderloin it comes in pairs. I only used 1 which is why I put half. Put the other tenderloin in the freezer for another day.

This stuffed tenderloin is perfect for dinner parties. Or Easter. Or a dinner party on Easter Sunday.

It came out succulent. The nuttiness of the mushroom, the salt from the bacon, the small amount of breadcrumbs to bind the stuffing complimented the pork and the tanginess of that Dijon you smothered it with.

And it doesn’t take that long to put it together. Plus, during those 45 minutes of bake time, you could make an amazing side. Make people think you slaved over the stove. They don’t need to know that you didn’t. People like facades, cloak and dagger cooking at its finest.

Leave a Reply

