Chicken Spaghetti

I’m going to be honest with you. I hated this dish. Hated it. Why am I posting it if I hated it? Because it’s different and theres about 8.2345 zillion versions of this recipe out there. However, I used chicken broth instead of milk and only 11 ounces of cream of mushroom soup. So it’s been modified quite a bit. Which means less carbs, less fat, less calories.

Do I think this modification ruined the whole dish? No. Bryan loved it. Raved about it. Asked for seconds and thirds. It just didn’t tickle my fancy. Just because the recipe looks scrumptious doesn’t mean it will taste that way. Besides, what one person likes, another hates. That’s what makes us unique and individuals. Could you imagine how boring the world would be if we were all the same, torn from the exact same cloth? And yes I realize that in a philosophical and religious sense we are all made from the same fabric.

Another difference between mine and others, is the use of real cheese. I’ve seen some that use Velveeta and I jut don’t understand why someone would put that nonsense in their mouth unless they were eating broccoli cheese soup. Also, I didn’t bake it. It’s supposed to be a casserole but I didn’t feel like dirtying another dish so it’s more of a skillet version.

So, real cheese, essentially one can of cream of mushroom soup, and chicken broth. And it’s more of a skillet instead of a casserole. So make it. If it tastes absolutely amazing and I’m crazy for hating it, comment below. Maybe I was having an off taste bud day. All I know is the house smelled amazing and this recipe is literally packed with vegetables so you know it’s a good for you. Maybe by not baking it, I failed to create something phenomenal.

Chicken Spaghetti

8 ounces thin spaghetti
1 tablespoon salted butter
2 cups sliced mushrooms
1 medium onion, chopped
1 celery stick, chopped
1/2 green bell pepper, chopped
1/2 red bell peppers, chopped
10 oz of cream of mushroom soup
1 cup chicken broth
8 ounces sharp cheddar cheese
6 thinly sliced chicken breast cooked and shredded
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon pepper

Directions

Cook chicken and shred it. Set aside

Cook pasta according to package directions until it’s al dente. Drain the pasta and set it aside.

Melt butter in a large skillet over medium heat.

Add mushrooms, onion, celery and bell peppers. Cook until the vegetables have softened.

In a medium bowl, mix chicken broth with soup until smooth.

Add this mixture to the vegetables in the pan.

Stir in cheddar cheese. Continue stirring until cheese has melted and the sauce is smooth.

Add chicken and pasta to sauce. Season to taste with salt and pepper.

Makes 8.

Leave a Reply

