Peach Pie Filling

I’ve been on a pie kick lately. I want to learn how to make pie filling for pretty much every single fruit pie known to man in order to refrain from buying tin pie filling. Sure tin pie filling like lucky leaf is an easy shortcut, but I over what I put in my mouth. That and one of my dreams is to own my own bakery that specialize in homemade pies that use fresh ingredients. In order sort of make this a reality, I need to learn how to make pie filling.

In Lucky Leaf peach pie filling: Peach slices, high fructose corn syrup, corn syrup, water, food starch-modified (corn), citric acid, potassium sorbate and ascorbic acid (preservatives). Yellow 5 and Yellow 6 color added.

Why are there two different corn syrup in it?

Also, I like to taste my fruit in my pies. I like to physically be able to tell what fruit is being used. And trust me, you’ll know and see the peaches if you use my peach pie filling.

image

Peach Pie Filling

1/2 cup sugar
4 Tablespoon cornstarch
2 Tablespoon lemon juice
2 tablespoon butter
5 peaches, peeled and sliced

Combine water, sugar, cornstarch, lemon juice, and butter and cook until thickened.

Pour into a deep dish pie crust and cook according to pie package directions.

Makes enough for 1 pie. 10 servings. Per serving.

This pie filling is phenomenal. It will blow your socks off.

All you taste is succulent amazing peaches. And they aren’t cooking into oblivion. The butter caramelizes the peaches creating this buttery peach goodness that makes your taste buds dance in happiness.

Love love love it.

image

Leave a Reply

