Homemade Shake and Bake

Bryan texted me last Friday that he wanted pork chops for dinner over the weekend. There are days where I get what I consider requests for dinner but in reality I have to make it that day or he will whine about it until I make it.

“Do you want me to make the Dijon parmesan pork chops that I made in the apartment?”
“No. I want shake and bake.”
“Ok, well I have panko here, I’m sure I can make a homemade version.”
“It has to be garlic and herb. And peas with mashed potatoes.”
“I’ll look up recipe for it.”

He’s so demanding sometimes, I swear.

I go to HEB and Walmart in town and guess what?!?! There is no such thing as garlic and herb shake and bake. The man attempted to put me in a wild goose chase looking for something that doesn’t exist. Thank god I decided to make my own. I already had the panko and most of the other ingredients and I could get other oregano and parsley for super cheap at Walmart.

Homemade Shake and Bake

3 cups panko
1 tablespoon dehydrated onion
3 teaspoons paprika
2 teaspoon garlic powder
1 teaspoon black pepper
1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1 teaspoon parsley flakes
1 teaspoon basil flakes
1 teaspoon oregano

Directions

In a large gallon bag, mix the ingredients up.

Store in sealed plastic bag for up to 2 months.

Makes 3 portions.

I feel like this mix would work great with chicken or pork. And I also feel like this is better for you than the shake and bake products that are out there. All the ingredients are pure. There are no added preservatives to it. No words that I can’t pronounce. None of that.

After a little bit of research there is a garlic and herb shake and bake, I just can’t find it in the region I live in. Here are the ingredients: Enriched Wheat Flour (Wheat Flour, Niacin, Iron, Thiamin Mononitrate [Vitamin B1], Riboflavin [Vitamin B2], Folic Acid), Wheat Flour, Garlic (Dried), Salt, Onions (Dried), Sugar, Partially Hydrogenated Soybean and Cottonseed Oil, Spices, Maltodextrin, Contains Less than 2% of Caramel Color, Corn Syrup (Dried), Natural Flavor, Dextrose, Yeast, Parsley (Dried), Paprika, Lemon Juice (Dried).

Dried corn syrup? What the fuck is that? Dried lemon juice? I think crystalized lemon juice would have sounded better. In addition to this abomination in dried form, there’s sugar.

I’m so happy I made my own.

3 thoughts on “Homemade Shake and Bake

  1. Pingback: Garlic and Herb Shake and Bake Pork Chops | The DIABETIC Kitchen

Leave a Reply

