Bulgogi

When Bryan and I lived in Houston, we always made it a goal to try out different restaurants. I spotted a Korean BBQ place, a little hole in the wall and got extremely excited. Back when I lived in Boston, two of my college friends and I went to this nice Korean BBQ restaurant where they gave us raw meat marinated in various different sauces and spices that we had to cook ourselves on the table’s grill. It was like hibachi meets fondue. We had such a great time there especially since one of my friends is squeamish about raw meat and wouldn’t even touch the stuff.

I naturally thought this might be the same thing. But it wasn’t. However, the food and little accompaniments were amazing. Bryan and I loved the place so much, we went back a couple of weeks later for my birthday dinner. Sadly the last time I was in town the Korean BBQ place was gone.

One thing I remember is the bulgogi was amazing and I hadn’t found a place that makes bulgogi as amazing as that place.

I decided to make my own. I already had most of the ingredient. So why not?

It came out amazing.
image

Bulgogi

1 lb thinly sliced top sirloin
3 tablespoon soy sauce
3 tablespoon sugar
2 tablespoon rice cooking wine
1 tablespoon sesame oil
2 tablespoon garlic, minced
1 teaspoon ground black pepper
2 teaspoon toasted sesame seeds
1 tablespoon green onions, minced
1 tablespoon kiwi, minced
6 white mushrooms, sliced
1/2 onion, sliced

garnish: chopped green onions
sesame seeds

Directions

Mix the soy sauce, sugar, rice wine, sesame oil, garlic, ground pepper, sesame seeds, green onion, and kiwi together in a medium bowl big enough to fit the meat.

Dump meat into bowl and mix by hand with the marinade. Cover the marinade and store in the fridge overnight.

Heat a skillet over medium heat.

Add mushrooms and onions to the marinated beef.

Dump contents in the bowl into the skillet. Cook until beef is brown. There will still be liquid in the skillet when the beef is done.

Garnish.

Makes 8.

OMG! This is amazing. It came out so phenomenal that Bryan asked me to make it again.

A few things: To get the amazing flavor, the bulgogi must be marinated overnight. None of this 30 minute nonsense. ALso, the kiwi not only is a great meat tenderizer, it adds amazing flavor. But you will only need half a kiwi. If you put too much kiwi in it, the meat will fall apart.

The first time I made this I used thinly cut round chuck and found it came out to dry. Good, but dry. Top sirloin was the meat I went with the second time around and it was well worth it. It does take some time because I had to cut the meat super thin. The difference in taste was astounding though.

What I love about this dish other that the fact that it tastes amazing, is that it’s so easy to make. Mix and leave it in the fridge until you cook it. And it goes great with rice.

image
Marinated yumminess

One thought on “Bulgogi

  1. Pingback: Bulgogi Grilled Cheese | The DIABETIC Kitchen

Leave a Reply

