Mini Chicken Pot Pie Muffins

While living at the in laws, I made this. Bryan wanted southern comfort food and basically this would be as close as I could get to it.

It came out really great but it was too eggy. I had the same problem with the mini pineapple upside down cakes. If there is too much egg, no matter how savory the rest of it is, that egg taste takes over.

When that happens, I get very angry.

To me, its like finding the cutest shoe ever and finding out that its actually a wedge. Why would you ruin a perfectly good shoe? Why?

Or when someone adds a seasoning for no reason and ruins everything. I was at a fancy restaurant with Mumika a few years ago and ordered meatloaf. It smelled amazing, it looked amazing and when I took my first bite I deemed it inedible. Why? The guy added rosemary and I hate the taste of rosemary. Mumika and I ended up trading plates because I couldn’t get through it.

So an extra egg for no reason makes me angry.

But not this time. This time I used one egg because of trial and error. I’m not going to make the same mistake twice.

Instead of using bisquik, or a homemade substitute, I created a flour doughy thing for the base. Bryan forgot the cheese I asked him to get me on his way through town, so I had to improvise. I used fontina cheese and OMG, it made all the difference. It literally brought out the spices and gave a nice sharp tang.
image

Mini Chicken Pot Pie Muffins

4 thinly sliced chicken breast
1 teaspoon oil
1/2 cup onion, chopped
1/2 cup chicken broth
1 cup frozen peas and carrots
1 clove garlic, chopped
1/2 teaspoon onion powder
1/4 teaspoon pepper
1 teaspoon poultry seasoning
1 cup shredded Fontina cheese

Dough Mixture

1/2 cup flour
1/2 cup milk
1 egg

Directions

In a skillet, heat oil and cook chicken until chicken is no longer pink in center.

Shred chicken in skillet using two forks

Add onion and chicken broth. Turn heat up until the broth starts simmering.

Add frozen vegetables and seasonings and cook until almost all liquid is absorbed.

Stir in cheese.

In medium bowl, stir dough mixture until a dough-like mixture occurs.

Place one tablespoon of the dough mixture into bottom of each muffin well that has been sprayed with cooking spray.

Top with chicken mixture until well is nearly full.

Bake for 25 minutes at 350.

Makes 18.

I think I like it better this way. Less carbs and it makes more.

What I love is that the serving size is 2 muffins and there’s less than 12 grams of carbs in each serving. On top of that it’s loaded with vegetables. Everything you need for a nutritious dinner in one little muffin.

And it tastes just like chicken pot pie. So yummy without the mess, stress, or frustration.

Even better, everything is portion controlled and it fills you up. If you want to add a side to it, go right ahead.

 

Leave a Reply

