Churro Crescents

I love cinnamon. I love it on toast, I love it in oatmeal, I love it on ground beef to make it more Mediterranean. It does not help lower my blood sugar as many tend to believe. I can’t tell how many times people have offered cinnamon as an advice to lower my blood sugar. I try to be nice about it and say that it doesn’t work that way but as always there are people that question you on it. In the end I rather curtly tell them that it works with type 2 not type 1. What cinnamon does, however, is help stabilize the blood sugar giving me some control over it when I don’t eat protein at a meal. Hence the use of it on top of oatmeal.

If I combine it with a food that I know can lower my blood sugar then I dip rather quickly which can end badly. I figured this out a year ago to the day about 4 hours before my best friend’s wedding. Mumika and I had breakfast at the hotel where I ate a bagel (which Mumika tried to take a bite out of until I yelled at her that I had already took insulin for it. Do not try to take diabetics food away from them after they’ve taken insulin, it always ends badly. You would think she had learned her lesson from a previous time, but she didn’t) and oatmeal with cinnamon, brown sugar, almonds, and cranberries. About 2 hours later as I was getting orange juice at a local grocery store, I came across sweet potato chips and proceeded to eat these chips as Mumika was doing my hair when we got back to the hotel. 15 minutes in, I feel it, the dip. Then the anger came, then lots of profanity followed by shaking. I was down to 75 and I could tell the dip wasn’t over. And that’s when I realized my error.

The cinnamon had made sure my blood sugar didn’t go sky high as I ate breakfast. Because of this, the insulin hit it’s mark before it needed to. It didn’t help that the snack I picked out naturally lowered my blood sugar.

Luckily, there was coke at the beach house Pam was getting married at.

When I came across this recipe, I decided to change it. It’s pretty straight forward and simple, but I didn’t feel there enough flavor. Well, that and I really hate the taste of canned refrigerated crescent roll dough. The bitterness gets me every time. I also felt that the icing or glaze was pointless and created a teeth decaying sweetness. I hate sickening sweetness. It’s pointless. Completely unnecessary.
image

Churro Crescents

1 tube refrigerated crescent rolls
2 Tablespoons butter, melted
1/8 cup sugar
2 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon

Directions

Pop the tube and unroll the crescent dough.

In a small bag mix the sugar and cinnamon.

In small bowl mix melted butter with 3/4 of the bag of sugar and cinnamon. Spread mixture over crescent rolls and roll them up. Place tip side down on parchment paper covering a cookie sheet.

Sprinkle remaining cinnamon and sugar over the crescents

Bake at 350 for 15 minutes. Let cool for 10 minutes before eating

Makes 8. Per crescent.

Tastes just like a churro. The cinnamon sugary buttery goodness of awesomeness. Love it.

I do recommend eating them while they are still warm. If they do co cold just warm it in the microwave.

This is perfect for teatime, brunch, breakfast or a snack.

If you do want to add the glaze on top and make it look all fancy (which I totally get) mix 2 tablespoons with 1/4 cup powdered sugar and 1/2 a teaspoon of vanilla. Drizzle over the crescents. Now you have bakery quality yumminess in half the time.

3 thoughts on “Churro Crescents

  1. Pingback: Italian Chocolate Cream Crescents | The DIABETIC Kitchen

  2. Pingback: Brown Sugar Bacon and Brie Crescents | The DIABETIC Kitchen

  3. Pingback: Nutella Crescents | The DIABETIC Kitchen

Leave a Reply

