Chicken Bruschetta Pasta

As I was cooking, I was absolutely stunned that amazing comedian and actor Robin Williams decided to take his life by suffocating to death. There is no worse way to commit suicide than through asphyxiation due to the fact that it is a tediously slow death. My heart goes out to those he left behind.

I haven’t felt such a grievance over a person I will never meet since John Ritter passed away. It must be because I grew up watching both of them on TV and in movies. Both were true comedic geniuses.

It’s the funny people that have the worst demons.

Anyway, as stated in a previous post, every time I go to TGIFriday I order the same thing. The chicken bruschetta pasta. The tomatoes, the garlic, the angel hair pasta, the balsamic vinegar. I absolutely love it.

Two days ago, I downloaded a free ecookbook filled with restaurant recipes. And in it, my favorite dish that I’ve been meaning to attempt to replicate. It’s a little easier than I though it would be, but it’s still rather complex to make. I think the fact that I’m going what seems like ten things at one time is what started to make me feel overwhelmed before even attempting to make it. But once I nixed a few things and realized I only needed a pot and a pan, it seemed rather easy.

This is why reading a recipe and visualizing how you are going to make it is important. If you do everything step by step (like my mother and mother inlaw) it takes 2 hours to make dinner. But if you start visualizing what you’re making, what you need to make it, a tedious process can be reduced to 30 minutes. That’s why I visualize. It helps me compartmentalize what I need to do and what I can do at the same time. I can cook spaghetti while cooking the meat and after I’m done with the meat, I can make the sauce in the same pan. By the time I’m done putting the sauce together, I can strain the pasta and add it to the sauce allowing me to make the reduction.

It’s all about visualization. And that’s how you cook without breaking into a sweat. This is why my food is more gourmet, I visualize.
image

Chicken Bruschetta Pasta

Pasta:
1 pound angel hair pasta
Balsamic Glaze:
1/2 cup balsamic vinegar
1 tablespoon sugar
Tomato Sauce:
7 medium-size Roma tomatoes, diced
2 tablespoon olive oil
1/2 teaspoon salt
4 garlic cloves, chopped
2 tablespoon dried basil leaves
1/2 cup tomato sauce
Chicken:
6 thinly sliced chicken breasts
1 tablespoon Italian seasoning
1/2 tablespoon butter

Directions

Put diced tomatoes, basil, and salt in a small bowl and mix until well combined. Refrigerate for one hour before using.

Boil pasta according to package instructions until al dente.

Place a huge skillet over medium heat. Season chicken with Italian seasonings and sauté in butter until browned. Put chicken on a plate, chop into strips and set aside.

Leaving the skillet on, heat the olive oil and cook the garlic until soft and tender

Add the tomatoes from the ridge and stir occasionally until juices start to simmer.

Add the tomato sauce and bring to a boil.

Add the pasta to the bruschetta sauce and mix until evenly coated.

Using a small sauce pan, mix the balsamic vinegar and sugar and bring the mixture to a boil. Reduce the mixture by 75%. The sauce will turn into a thick liquid. Cool to room temperature.

To plate: Place pasta on plate first. Top with 4 or 5 strips of chicken and drizzle the balsamic reduction over it.

Makes 6.

This is as good as in the restaurant. I really wish I had some parmesan cheese to kick it up a notch. But oh my god, it’s amazing. It’s tangy, there’s a beautiful acidity from the tomatoes and a cool evenness from the basil that cuts through everything. The angel hair pasta is the perfect base and the chicken it the perfect protein needed to make it a wholesome dish.

I love it.
image

The pasta is good by itself with a little drizzle if the balsamic reduction.

Leave a Reply

