Italian Chocolate Cream Crescents

I love mascarpone cheese. I love texture. I love the bland subtle sweetness of it. I love anything that has it in it.

You might notice I’m on a crescent kick lately. I found a few tubes in my fridge that were about to expire and decided making normal ass crescents just wasn’t going to happen. So I made these awesome churro ones and now I’m making these.

I get excited over the little things.

The one thing that frustrated me was the use of white sugar. I always mix powdered sugar with the mascarpone. ALWAYS. It creates this beautiful Italian like sweetness that hits the spot perfectly. You can taste the Italian in the cheese. I fear white sugar wouldn’t even come close in doing that. I also reduced the amount because I didn’t need that much.

chococrescent

Italian Chocolate Cream Crescents
2 ounces mascarpone cheese
1 1/2 teaspoon powdered sugar
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 tube of Crescent Roll dough
40 chocolate chips

Directions:

In a small mixing bowl combine the mascarpone cheese, sugar, and teaspoon vanilla extract. Mix until well combined and has a satin smoothness to it.

Pop the tube and unroll crescent dough.

Place a tablespoon of the mascarpone mixture onto the crescent triangle and spread it with a spoon.

Sprinkle 5 chocolate chips over the cheese mixture towards the large end of the triangle.

Gently roll the crescent roll dough towards the pointed end.

Place the rolls parchment paper lined baking sheet.

Bake at 350 for 15 minutes or until the crescents are lightly golden brown. Remove from oven and allow to cool before eating.

Makes 8. Per crescent.

It’s rich. I didn’t expect that. I should have with the richness of the mascarpone and the use of chocolate. Add cream to chocolate and it automatically takes on a rather rich flavor.

It was oozing chocolate goodness and is definitely one of those rather indulgent foods. The whole thing screams elegance. And will definitely satisfy any chocoholic.

What’s great is that it’s portable. Tired of feeding the kids pancakes and waffles, give them this instead. Hell, don’t have time to feed the kids, give them two crescents and scoot them out the door towards the bus stop.

Pair it with fruit for tea time or it would be a great snack with hot chocolate during the cold months.

2 thoughts on “Italian Chocolate Cream Crescents

  1. Pingback: Italian Cream Stuffed Strawberries | The DIABETIC Kitchen

  2. Pingback: Brown Sugar Bacon and Brie Crescents | The DIABETIC Kitchen

Leave a Reply

