Italian Cream Stuffed Strawberries

I first made this for Mumika for her birthday. We went through roughly 2 pints of strawberries in one sitting and I ended up making three batches of these amazing perfect treats before I had to go back home.

I originally wanted to make her an awesome cake but she requested something I little more healthy. After glancing at various recipes online, I came across strawberry stuffed cheesecake and decided to use mascarpone cheese instead.

Italian cream stuffed strawberries were born.

I used about two tablespoons of powdered sugar in each batch that weekend. It didn’t even occur to me to reduce the powdered sugar and add vanilla extract until I made the Italian chocolate cream crescents.

After making those crescents I had an abundance of mascarpone that would go bad soon if I didn’t use it. I definitely was not going to let that happen. Its not that mascarpone cheese is expensive (although Mumika would disagree with that statement), I just can’t let something that tastes that good go to waste. Which reminds me, I need to make boba sometime this month before the pearls expire. Armed with dedication, I came across the strawberries at HEB that actually looked amazing and we not on the brink of molding and THEY WERE ON SALE!

Italian cream stuffed strawberries! That’s perfect. And Bryan hasn’t had them yet.

Today I woke up craving them. So we had them for breakfast.

It was amazing. When I brought them into the living room Bryan immediately stopped playing his video game and was grinning while he watched the plate being set down. He looked exactly like our wolf does when it’s she knows it’s steak night and she’s patiently waiting for her steak.
image

Italian Cream Stuffed Strawberries

6 oz mascarpone cheese
1 tablespoon powdered sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 pint strawberries

Directions

Using a 1/4 teaspoon measuring spoon, spoon the insides of a strawberry out making sure not to knick the bottom or sides. You can save and use the scrap strawberries for smoothies, lemonades, daiquiris, pie filling….get creative.

In a small bowl mix the mascarpone cheese, powdered sugar, and vanilla extract until a smooth satin appearance forms.

Gently spoon the mascarpone mixture into the cavity of the strawberry.

Makes about 25 strawberries. Per strawberry.

I love these. Love them love them love them. They are perfect as a quick sweet treat. You could dip them in chocolate as an elegant dessert at a wine and cheese party. Or choose not to dip but drizzle chocolate over them for bridal showers, tea parties, tea time, baby showers, and any party, really, with a small spread. These are perfect for those parties where you want something sweet on the spread but you don’t want to do a cake, cupcakes, brownies, or cookies. Be daring, Be different and everyone will comment on how cute and amazing these are. If I owned a spa and did spa parties, I would definitely have this as part of the spa snacks. Man, I wish I had thought of this while I worked at my first spa and we had Spalicious.

These little gems would also be perfect as a sweet alternative to chocolates and a twist on chocolate covered stawberries on valentines day.

The creaminess and subtle sweetness of the mascarpone cheese pairs perfectly with the tart sweetness of the strawberries. So indulgent.

I’m in heaven when I eat one. Heaven.

 

Leave a Reply

