Cinnamon Toast

I still remember the day I was introduced to cinnamon toast. I was 8 and over at a friend’s house.

“Hey, let’s have cinnamon toast!” She said.
“What’s that?” I asked.
“You don’t know what cinnamon toast is?”
“Um, no.”
“OMG! We have to make it then. It’s amazing!”
“O…k…”

Maybe it was the fact that I was young, but it changed my whole idea of what you could do with toast. It never occurred to me that adding something as simple as sugar and cinnamon to it could make it into the most amazing carmelized cinnamon sweetness. I thought bread was made for sandwiches and buttered toast.

It changed my 8 year old life.

But I rarely make it. I find that this treat, albeit more of a snack than a breakfast, is great on those bleak winter days or rainy afternoon paired with tea or coffee.

You could do it the easy way which is microwave it, but the flavor isn’t as intense as when baked. That and I hate rubbery bread. Hate it!
image

Cinnamon Toast

1/4 tablespoon of soft butter
2 slices of toast
1 teaspoon sugar
1 teaspoon cinnamon

Directions

Place to slices of bread on a baking sheet or foil.

In a small bowl, mix the cinnamon and sugar.

Divide the soft butter into half and slather each half onto a slice of bread.

Sprinkle the cinnamon sugar over each slice of bread.

Bake at 350 for 5 minutes.

Makes 2 slices. Per slice.

This is definitely comfort food. And the whole house smells amazing while it’s being baked.

Leave a Reply

