Skirt Steak Fajitas

My birthday was a few days ago and I had no clue what I wanted to do with it. I never have a plan for this day. But I did know that I wanted to drink mimosas all day long. Which I did.

As I walked around HEB, it occurred to me that I had this amazing skirt steak at home and what better way to take advantage of this happiness than by making fajitas.

Who can say no to fajitas? The meat, the seasoning, the cheese, the tomatoes, the pico de gallo, and the avocado. Usually you make guacamole, but I personally like my avocadoes in its pure form while eating Mexican food. Guacamole is more for dips and appetizers and less flavorful avocados.

So around 430PM I marinade the steak and at 5PM is put it in a skillet to cook. I know, I know, use the grill Michelle. But that takes too long. And I just didn’t feel like messing with the charcoal and the grill and the puppies thinking they were getting a treat. And while I waited for the steak to cook, I put my fajita making station (a cookie sheet) together and placed it on a table waiting impatiently for my steak.

beef fajitas

Beef Fajitas

1 1/2 pounds skirt steak
Fajita seasoning
1/2 lime, squeezed

Directions

Rub fajita seasoning all over skirt steak.

Squeeze lime on top of it. Let it marinade for 30 minutes.

Cook in a skillet or on a grill until it reaches desired doneness.

Remove from heat, cut into strips and let is rest for 5 minutes.

Makes 8.

Love it. Absolutely love it. Who needs to go a Mexican restaurant when you can make it at home.

 

One thought on “Skirt Steak Fajitas

  1. Pingback: Oven Baked Chicken Fajitas | The DIABETIC Kitchen

Leave a Reply

