Thai Peanut Coconut Chicken

Bryan isn’t impressed with thai food. Which is odd because there was in a point in our relationship where Thai food was the bees knees and we couldn’t get enough of it. In fact, our rehersal dinner was at our favorite Thai place. I think he decided he didn’t like Thai after that place was replaced by a different Thai place that sucked. Therefore. causing him to deem all Thai places as boring and variations of the same thing.

Did I care about his feeling when I made this yummy thai inspired dish?

FUCK NO!

Supposedly this is a variation of Cheesecake Factory’s Bang Bang Shrimp and Chicken but without the shrimp. When I looked at the description I could see the similarities. Does it taste like it? I have no clue. When I go to cheesecake factory I go for the cheesecake. I think I’ve actually had a meal there once.

But this recipe is yummy, and that’s all that matters. Also, the original recipe was enough for 4 serving and I just wasn’t having that. I’m sorry but one chicken breast for four people makes no sense to this diabetic.

So I tweaked it and added garlic.

image

Thai Peanut Coconut Chicken
2
 tablespoons olive oil
6 thinly sliced chicken breast, cut into bite sized pieces
2 cups sliced carrots
3/4 large onion, diced
1 garlic clove, chopped
1 1/2 tablespoons all purpose flour
1 1/4 cup chicken stock
1 teaspoon salt
1 1/2 teaspoon pepper
1 can coconut milk
3 tablespoons peanut butter
1 tablespoons sugar
3 teaspoons curry powder
1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes
1/2 cup heavy cream
1 1/4 cup frozen peas

Directions

In skillet, heat olive oil over medium heat

Add in chicken and cook until mostly cooked thoroughly

Add in carrot, garlic, and onion and sauté until tender..

Add curry, salte and pepper

Coat in flour and cook another minute.

Add in chicken stock.

Bring to boil and reduce to simmer. The sauce will thicken a little.

Stir in coconut milk, peanut butter, and sugar. Simmer 5 minute.

Stir in heavy cream and peas. Cook until peas are tender.

Makes 10 servings.

Told you I tweaked it.

This smelled heavenly in my kitchen. And then I ate it and it tasted heavenly in my mouth. The curry. The carrots. The coconut milk. The peas. The peanut butter. Oh my goodness.

The sauce tasted amazing with the right amount of spices and just a hint of creamy coconut and nuttiness from the peanuts.

I felt like I was in a Thai kitchen in Thailand eating yummy goodness with the ocean behind me on a nice hot summer afternoon.

I ended up usin creamy peanut butter which I think worked beter than if I had used chunky. You want the hint of peanuts in the sauce, not literally a chunk of peanut in your mouth.

I think the best part about it was it literally took me about 35 minutes to make. So it literally takes the same amount of time it takes to cook rice in the rice cooker. Perfect if you are in a rush or just lack time in general.

And of course, you must serve this yumminess on top of heaping pile of fresh hot and steamy rice.

Leave a Reply

