Red beans and Rice

There are days where my heart cries out for that good ole creole New Orleans food. Not Louisianan food, but my hometown, New Orleans food. I have always been proud that I was born in a city that knows how to party and invites the people into the world of the eclectic. Everytime I’m in New Orleans there are three things I must do: go to Cafe DuMonde, get me a Strawberry Daquiri and of, course eat me some of that amazing red beans and rice.

God, do I love that red bean and rice.

I crave it. I look forward to it. I jump for joy as the smell of New Orleans takes over my kitchen bringing me back to my home, my happy place, the only place where I feel normal here in America. Even though I moved to Texas when i was 2 1/2, that New Orleans vibe never left me. We are social butterflies, kind souls, and the good kind of crazy.

I was worried about this whole slow cooking thing. Slow cooking red beans and rice, am I crazy? Why yes, yes I am. And it came out so good. Those creole smells residing in my nose while that creole taste had a party in my mouth.

I’m going to have to make me some jambalya or some dirty rice in a few weeks at the rate I’m going.

And the best part – It is literally full of protein. Can’t make a diabetic girl happier than that….okay you can, it’s called god getting rid of my diabetes and saying, “Oooops, my bad. Gave it to the wrong Michelle. I can’t believe it took me over 5 and a half years to notice this error. Toodles.” But we both know that that’s not going to happen any time soon.

image

 Slow Cooker Red beans and Rice

1 pound dried red beans
7 cups water
1 green bell pepper, chopped
1 medium onion, chopped
2 celery stalks, chopped
3 garlic cloves, chopped
1 pound of kielbesa sausage, sliced
3 tablespoons creole seasoning
6 cups of rice, cooked

Directions

Put all the ingredients except the rice in the slow cooker.

Cook on HIGH for 7 hours.

Serve ontop of cooked rice.

Makes 12 servings. Per Serving.

This makes a lot. {Edit: It took Bryan and I four days to eat it all up.}

Which I was fine and dandy with. I could eat red beans and rice all day every day.

It taste just like New Orleans. Just like it. And I was doing a dance as I ate the first bite. The oh my god it’s so yummy I’ve died and gone to heaven dance.

I’m not joking, it’s that good.

And it tastes even better on the second day. Why? Because all of those flavors mesh together overnight and the sauce ets thicker and next thing you know you’re in true Creole form putting Trappey’s Peppers on top and eating it without a second thought. Bryan made me buy the hot sauce. Except, it’s not that hot. And it adds just a nice touch of heat to it. Tabasco peppers soaked in vinegar, well I never. This girl has come a long way in this whole eating heat thing. A long way. The English and Puerto Rican cuisine isn’t exactly know for it’s heat like the Cajun’s, The Thais and that curry, or Mexicans with their ghost pepper salsa.

{Edit: How did it taste the fourth day, you ask? Just as good as day 1 and day 2. Honestly, if there’s only two people, make it and freeze it. But if you’re having a get together like a crawfish boil, hell bring it. No one is going to say no to red beans and rice just like no one says no to gumbo.}

Quick funny story: So red beans and rice were normally cooked on a Monday using the ham leftover from Sunday dinner. A nice way to make dinner while cleaning the house. Guess what day yesterday was: Monday. It was destiny. God looked upon me alon with the angels and archangels and said onto me, “Michelle, today you will be make those heavenly red beans and rice you’ve been craving and it will be good. Heaven and earth will rejoice as that Creole New Orleans smell doth waife throughout your kitchen.”

image

The yumminess in the slow cooker.
 

Leave a Reply

