AAHHHmazing King Ranch Chicken

There aren’t too many things Mumika can cook amazingly, but this is definitely one of them. My only problem, if I remember correctly, is that her recipe calls for some canned soup things. We all know how I feel about the use of canned soup in recipes. But I still love it. She made this for my first Master’s graduation party and it got eaten up a wee bit more quickly than we anticipated.

When I came across this no soup can recipe, I heart jumped for joy. Although it looks like a lot, and if you add the total amount of time needed, it seems to take forever, but in reality it’s quite easy.

Only problem is that I was in the middle of writing a short paper when Bryan tells me he’s hungry and asks what’s for dinner?

“Um, I thought when you decided that we were going to your parent’s for chicken gumbo that that was dinner.” I reply.
“No, that was lunch.”

Seriously Bryan. We ate at like 2PM, how on earth is this lunch. And why did you wait until 7 bloodyPM to tell me your hungry. Bloody hell!

So I stopped working on my paper which I had finally started to write after 2 days of being mentally blocked and unable to due to an awesome bereavement conference and lack of electricity because Bryan was putting the power lines underground and made him his food. It was 730PM when I started, and it was ready by 9PM.

But that first bite made my pissiness and cussing under my breath wanting to stab him with the kitchen knife in my hand disappear. It was not amazing, it was aahhhmazing.

This is definately one of those, your picky and put your nose up on me so now what bitch kind of dishes. The I can make this better than your great great grammy sort of dish. The I’m going to make you wish you didn’t think those assumptions about me thoughts. The shut the front door and call me Shipley sort of dish.

Because in all honesty, when you hear King Ranch Chicken you either get all excited eee! or you’re like, really? Seriously? I’m coming to dinner and you are going to feed me this slop. This recipe will make those haters stop in thier tracks and convert them to the awesomeness that is King Ranch Chicken.

image

King Ranch Chicken

1 1/2 pounds of boneless chicken breast
1 lime, juiced and divided
3 garlic cloves, minced
4 tablespoons butter
1/2 onion, diced
1 red bell pepper, diced
1 poblano pepper, diced
1 10 oz. can of Ro-Tel tomatoes
4 teaspoons paprika
1 teaspoon of cumin
1 cup of chicken broth
2 tablespoons of flour
1 teaspoon of cayenne pepper
1/2 cup of half and half
1/3 cup of sour cream
1/2 cup of cilantro, chopped
3 cups of shredded colby and cheddar cheese
12 corn tortillas
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon pepper to taste

Directions

Season the chicken with the lime juice, 2 teaspoons of paprika and a dash of salt.

In a skillet heated on medium, cook the chicken until no loner pink

When chicken is done, shred it with two forks and set aside.

Melt the butter in a saucepan on medium, and add the onions, red bell pepper and poblano pepper. Cook until tender.

Add the garlic, flour, cumin, cayenne pepper and 2 teaspoon of paprika, until well coated.

Add the chicken broth and cook on low until mixture is thickened.

Stir in the half-and-half and Ro-Tel cover and simmer for about 15 minutes, stirring occasionally.

Add the sour cream, 2 teaspoons of lime juice and 1/4 cup of cilantro, and add salt and pepper to taste. Remove from heat.

Ladle 1/2 cup of the sauce onto the bottom of an 11 x 7 inch baking pan.

Layer half the tortillas along the bottom of the pan on top of the sauce.

Add half the chicken, half the remaining sauce, half the remaining cilantro and 1 1/2 cups of grated cheese.

Repeat the layering, leaving the cheese layer on top.

Bake at 350 for 30 minutes.

Makes 8.

OMG. OMG.

So yummy.

Just the right heat.

Absolute perfection.

This is definitely better than your mothers versions and better than any version using canned anything.

image

2 thoughts on “AAHHHmazing King Ranch Chicken

  1. Pingback: What this blog is actually about | The DIABETIC Kitchen

Leave a Reply

